Whats the XP equivalent of kill -9?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Peyomp, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I was using my mom's notebook and it has XP (yuck) on it. And firefox froze. And I tried to kill the process in task manager, and it wouldn't close. And I had to reboot. And even then, it hung because it could not kill that process. So I had to do a hard reboot.

    What is the 2K/XP/2K3 equivalent of kill -9?
     
  2. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Kill, but you have to download it from the resource kit.
     
  3. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,503
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    look up taskkill
     
  4. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,458
    Likes Received:
    12
    in that situation taskkill or even the reskit kill won't help. I've seen my guys use some thread kill util that has some success depending on the hang, but you probably will not be able to kill it regardless.

    unix/gnu kill -9 doesn't kill anything or everything anyway.
     
  5. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since SIGKILL can't be caught, in what situations does unix/gnu kill -9 fail to kill a process? I've never encountered this, nor can I find any reference to anyone having encountered this.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2006
  6. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,458
    Likes Received:
    12
    Processes in an U or uninterruptable state. Or processes waiting for I/O that will never comeback, stale hard nfs mount points, process spawned from SAN/remote file systems ripped from under the system, etc.
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You couldn't end the process in Task Manager under the Process tab? That's always worked for me. It kills the process and all of its threads, without even offering a last cigarette first.
     
  8. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    samba can do it too, apparently.

    Yeah, task manager generally sucks for killing stuff that doesn't wanna die.
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not in my experience. Like I said, if I've been able to move the mouse, Task Manager has always killed what I wanted it to. (shrug) Fraid I don't have any other suggestions. I reiterate that my success has been through the Process tab, not the Application tab. The Kill command in the Application tab can't kill shit.

    EDIT: Sounds like your real problem is that you're running Firefox on Windows. The Windows version of Firefox leaks memory like a sieve. Just use Internet Explorer with the security bumped up a notch and a good popup blocker running. I like the Google bar, myself.
     
  10. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Internet explorer is an evil piece of crap and I will not run it, sir.
     
  11. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Use Opera then
     
  12. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,458
    Likes Received:
    12
    There are similar situations where processes cannot be killed under the process task mgr/res kill/taskkill/threadkill. And it's also related to processes waiting for I/O.

    Example, the save.exe and savepnpc.exe process for Legato Networker will hang at times waiting for I/O.
     
  13. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,458
    Likes Received:
    12
    Nope, not 100% of the time. Depends how it's mounted and what protocols served to mount of course.
     

Share This Page