What's the easiest way to control your computer remotely?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Axlerod, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. Axlerod

    Axlerod Grammar Police

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canadaustralia
    I just want to control my desktop while I'm in the living room on my laptop. Can NetMeeting do it? Better program?
     
  2. Rumbaar

    Rumbaar Inherent Omniscience OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    22,248
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Depends on your OS and what you are wanting to do, but Remote Desktop Connection under Communications is what I use and it's built into Windows.
     
  3. Axlerod

    Axlerod Grammar Police

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canadaustralia
    Thanks

    Both are running XP Pro... I'm having troubles connecting, and I think that you have to have windows firewall running for some reason
     
  4. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Easiest way has to be wireless keyboard and mouse.
     
  5. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Remote Desktop if the desktop is running XP Pro...RealVNC if not. You can also use LogMeIn.
     
  6. Rumbaar

    Rumbaar Inherent Omniscience OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    22,248
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    You'll most likely have to assign a password to the computers account you are trying to connect too. Without a password I don't think it will connect.
     
  7. Axlerod

    Axlerod Grammar Police

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canadaustralia
    Thanks.

    I got it working with RDC. Had troubles because I had disabled Terminal Services to save resources. Working beauties now.
     
  8. Boogieman117

    Boogieman117 PSN: Boogieman117

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17,554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    20678/20657 area
    I use VNC because it is client/server based, so it either works or is doesn't.

    If you have RDC working and you like it, go with it.
     
  9. TRN

    TRN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55,113
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    North East
    Make sure it is enabled.

    I like Dameware and VLC
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    vlc is a media player... perhaps you meant vnc? Also known as a steamy pile of shit.
     
  11. Save The Queen

    Save The Queen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake V.A.
    crossloop is good too and its easy and free
     
  12. Reclaimer

    Reclaimer I said I know it's only rock 'n roll but I like it

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOUISIANA
    :werd: i cant stand that shit, we have to use it at work a lot and its fucking sluggish as all hell.
     
  13. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    been using it for about 3 months now and it works pretty well for me. A little laggy at times, but not bad.

    better option?
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon

Share This Page