Whats the difference b/w 9600 and 9600 Pro?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by IDAFC21, Sep 29, 2003.

  1. IDAFC21

    IDAFC21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avondale, AZ
    besides about 30 bucks? :dunno:
     
  2. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area
    if it's only $30... why not opt for the pro and not kicking yourself in the ass later on? :dunno:
     
  3. IDAFC21

    IDAFC21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avondale, AZ
    i know, i plan to....just curious
     
  4. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area
    well... speaking from experience, but maybe just me... the 9600 pro did nothing for me. i thought a $200 card would do a lot more, but perhaps it's just my computer [p3 833mhz 1.2gb sdram - my shit's obsolete :hs:]
     
  5. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
  6. Coco Monkey

    Coco Monkey OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    29,456
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    hello paul. I have the 9600 Pro, and is it worth the 30 dollar difference? shit, beats the hell outa me. But anything with "Pro" written on it HAS to be better then the original right?? if thats the card you're lookin at for your super computer, i can tell ya its nice. works like a charm, and runs all of my games without any slow down.

    But you're lookin at some hardcore games in the near future from what i remember, i.e. half life 2, and Doom. sooooo... maybe a few more dollars on a higher card with higher chip set then buddy. OTHERWISE... hey.. enjoy the weather in arizona. :wavey:
     
  7. IDAFC21

    IDAFC21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avondale, AZ
    why thank you dave, that was a very helpful and informative post. you make very good points as well. However ive already gone and ordered me a 9600 pro from newegg. 155 shipped, you cant beat that. Yes, while if you REALLY wanna play HL2 the way it was meant to be played, you need a real high tech piece of machinery, however, im not gonna spend 400 bucks on somthing im gonna use for 1 game. the 9600 pro should have enough grunt to handle *MOST* of HL2's features, at half the cost, so that'll do just fine for me.
     
  8. tenzor2002

    tenzor2002 Guest

    bus speed and compatibility
     
  9. Coco Monkey

    Coco Monkey OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    29,456
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    tell Joe and the cats i said hello :wavey:
     
  10. yuppiejr

    yuppiejr Guest

    9600 non-pros are passively cooled, run about 20% slower on the GPU and use memory that is about 50% slower than their Pro counterparts.

    Translates to about a 30% loss of performance versus a Pro card across the board. Also, you cannot overclock a 9600 non pro with current generation drivers (3.4 catalysts were the last version that could), the Pros are typically unlocked out of the box and have headroom for even more of a performance advantage with overclocking.

    In short - the price/performance difference between a 9600/9600 Pro makes the Pro WELL worthwhile. a 9700/9700 Pro or 9800/9800 Pro tend to score a lot closer, not sure why they super-gimped the 9600 non pro so badly compared to it's big brother.
     
  11. jeck

    jeck New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bay area, ca
    Two Simple Words.... Clock Speed
     
  12. IDAFC21

    IDAFC21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avondale, AZ
    how do you go about overclocking a graphics card? im not quite familiar w/ this. is it safe? dont need me a burned out graphics card
     
  13. OPTIMO

    OPTIMO New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    19,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    If you want to save a bit more money look into the Saphhire 9500 NP Red Board with Omega drivers and overclock using Rage3d. Mine functions around 9700 power. :)
     

Share This Page