what's the better upgrade?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mapileTree, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. mapileTree

    mapileTree Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    i can either upgrade a 1.8 ghz to a 2.6 ghz p4

    OR

    upgrade 256 mb rambus ram to 768 mb ram (rambus rdram pc800)

    which am i going to benefit from more, until i can gather the money to get the other upgrade?
     
  2. [dRu]

    [dRu] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    52,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    I think what you will benefit more from will depend on what you plan on doing with your computer.
     
  3. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    RAM, hands down.
     
  4. mapileTree

    mapileTree Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    gaming
     
  5. [dRu]

    [dRu] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    52,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    You will most likely see the most noticable increase in performance if you got the memory :).
     
  6. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Ram. If you already had the 768mb RAM, I'd say processor, but with 256mb, you will most definatly feel the difference the RAM makes.
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    RAM. Wait to do the processor until you can afford to buy a new mobo as well and go 64-bit.
     
  8. 127.0.0.1

    127.0.0.1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    upgrade to amd.
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    That would mean a new motherboard though, which is more money.
     
  10. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    RAM. (but the AMD guy is right :) )
     
  11. twofaze

    twofaze H.N.I.C.

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    32,043
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA USA
    RAM wins.....
     
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    CPU











    if you want to build a "benchmark queen"
     
  13. SL1200MK4

    SL1200MK4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    0
    I vote for RAM...

    But how much will the RAM cost you?

    Run all your favorite games and use your computer like you normally would. Then Ctrl-Alt-Del to get the task manager, see the peak commit charge. That's the maximum amount of ram that your system had used at peak. Based on that you can know how much ram you need.

    But if you plan on upgrade soon, then money go toward the ram will be wasted, unless you get a totally new system and use the old computer for something else...
     

Share This Page