What's the best way to improve my data storage?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Biomechanoid, Jan 19, 2004.

  1. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.
    right now I've got a dedicated multi-media server setup as a host to all my MP3's and video files. The server has 4 120gig, 7200 RPM HDs that are nearly full :wtc:

    what should I do to improve my storage? I'm using an old Pentium 450 running XP, and its mobo only has 2 IDE channels.


    I'm wondering if there aren't some (relatively) cheap 200+gig HDs out there, or maybe a mobo with 3 or 4 IDE channels. :dunno:


    suggestions?

    I really like having a dedicated server for all my media files, as it's easier than hunting for a bunch of DVDs and CDs, so burning my stuff is not an option
     
  2. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,395
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Get a controller card. That what I did. Now I can add up to 4 more HDD's if I want although I just have 1 more for now (Total of 3) I got it off ebay for under $20 with shipping.
     
  3. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,395
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Minnesota
  4. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.
    thanks man :bigthumb:

    how's the data transfer speed on the card compared to your other HDs?
     
  5. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,395
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Minnesota
    No difference.
     
  6. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,395
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Minnesota
    How big of power supply do you have? I don't know too much about computers but I would think after 5+ HDD's it will start needing a lot of juice. :dunno:
     
  7. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    yeah, might want to invest in a bigger power supply, but it sounds like you're running 4 drives right now without any problems, so maybe you've got enough. Want to sell any of those 120gig drives off, just let me know :big grin: I could use a little extra storage.
     
  8. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.

    I've got an antec true 550watt power supply in the server. the other thing to remember is that 3 of the 4 HDs are pure file storage, so there's not a large load going on all the time, and the 4th one is partitioned into an 8gig sector for XP/variousmediaplayers, and the rest for storage.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2004
  9. alreadyDEAD

    alreadyDEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vegas / colo spgs
    You will definately want to setup a RAID 5 with that. With that much data on storage, a HD failure will probably be disasterous.
     
  10. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.

    I'm not too worried about losing data, as a vast majority of it is highquality/uncompressed ripped DVDs and CDs.

    But explain raid to me in depth.

    last time I looked into doing a raid setup you basically halved your drive space in favor of reducing acesstimes, OR you split files over multiple disks so that if one drive failed you were royally fucked, but you again had faster acess times. :dunno: I just build boxes that work for me.
     

Share This Page