SRS What's my deal?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Mikhail117, Feb 2, 2008.

1. Mikhail117

Mikhail117 New Member

I'm very competitive-- every time I put my mind into something, I always want to be #1, no matter what it is.

An example. I started playing guitar in my first year of high school, and I'm a senior right now. I thought I was doing pretty alright (I can play jazz, classical, electric guitar), then a day or two ago, I jammed with a couple of sophomores, and their lead guitarist wiped the floor with me with his licks. I just left then and there, making up some stupid excuse so that I could get out of there.

Felt bad after that-- I know, I overreacted. But really, I don't like it when someone gets ahead of me in something. I even quit Classical guitar because my cousin got ahead of me after doing it for six months.

I was pondering on it a couple of hours ago, and I figured that I have this idea that when you've been doing something longer than somebody else, you should be better than him/her. A 'seniority' complex, I guess.

Can anyone help me? Give me some advice so that I don't go off feeling incompetent whenever someone gets ahead? I really don't like feeling like a loser when it comes to things like this.

Thanks to anyone who replies.

2. arseclown

arseclown Guest

whenever i come across a situation like that, i always make that person that i think is :bowdown: my friend.

1) you get a new friend
    2) you get friendlier infos on how he/she got to where he/she was
    3) you can do stuff with the person in the field you want to improve in (collaborate)
    4) ???
    5) Profit

I used to be like you at the end of high school. Then I got to college and realized that I'm really not that unique. Not everyone thinks I am a god. I'm only as good as I feel I am, and why would I let the success of others offend or make me feel negative about myself? If anything, it should make you want to do more / be better.