What's happening!?!?!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Hatchy, Feb 7, 2004.

  1. Hatchy

    Hatchy Not just the President

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    My computer will just randomly reset on its own. I scanned and cleaned for viruses, and its still doing it. What could possibly be causing this?
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    heat issues?

    little more information would be helpfull. OS, what kind of computer? specs? temps?
     
  3. Mirrorlure7M

    Mirrorlure7M OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southwest Fl
    It can also be the Motherboard has gone bad it can be a bunch of different things
     
  4. fatlip

    fatlip Transcendence Into The Peripheral

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2001
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    memory issues could cause that too, tis a common cause of re-setting.
     
  5. Hatchy

    Hatchy Not just the President

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Dunno bout temps. 1.4ghz Athlon, 256mb RAM, WinXP Pro. I doubt it's the motherboard because it's fairly new.
     
  6. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Chip creap can do this.. could be a bunch of things. Heat or chip creap is most common.
     
  7. Hatchy

    Hatchy Not just the President

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Chip creap?
     
  8. deadshot13

    deadshot13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bad ram?
     
  9. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Probably not the cause but just throwing it out. I had XP Pro with Zone Alaram and that started causing re-boots all the sudden one day. I re-installed it and everything was fine after that. :dunno:
     
  10. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Heat of the machine can cause the RAM chips to slightly 'creap' out of their socket..giving random reboots.
     

Share This Page