What's a good first cruiser?

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Subie Driver, Sep 3, 2005.

1. Subie Driver

Subie Driver Eye see what you did there.

Hey, all, got a question for you. I have my scooter right now (Piaggio BV200), which I love, but eventually I do plan on moving up to a "real" bike, as everyone puts it. Not looking for a sportbike, my back would hate me for that hunched over position, but I really like cruisers. I want something decently fast, good on gas, easy and fun to ride, and looks good. I've looked at some Vulcans on eBay, and that's the kind of style I'm looking for. Would a Vulcan make a good cruiser for someone like me? I've only been riding for a few months, but I'm looking towards the future, maybe a year or so, unless I find a really good deal and manage to shit some money pretty soon. I have very little experience with manual bikes, which was one of the biggest reasons I got the scooter in the first place, it has a CVT. Are cruisers easy or hard to ride around? I know this is a lot of words, but I wanted to get some info out here, instead of making everyone ask me questions. Which I'm sure they will, but any help would be great.

2. mrbill

mrbill New Member

if you're not against the idea.. the ninja 500 wouldn't be a bad choice. it's got a pretty upright riding position and it faster than you might think. plus the lower cc's will help with the insurance folks. there's also the buell blast.
    if you've got your heart set on a cruiser, then a vulcan 750 or 800 should be okay. there's also the shadow, v-star and various zuks.
    cruisers are a bit hefty which can make them a little cumbersome at parking lot speeds, but it shouldn't take much to adjust to that.
    you've probably heard it before, but the best thing would be to try and ride a few different ones to see how you like them. i know it's easier said than done, but it really is the best option. check local dealers to see if they have any you can test ride.