What would you upgrade, memory or vid card?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Macgyver, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
    Current Specs:
    AMD dual-core 4200
    2gigs ram
    6800XT 256mb

    I get little hiccups during high-motion 720p stuff, 1080p I get alot of hiccups.

    Not that into gaming, but I gotta be able to do HD easily.

    Options are:

    8600GT vid card 512mb is about all I can afford

    or

    Two more gigs of RAM

    What's the better upgrade for HD video?

    Eventually, I'll get both, and that'll be it for this motherboard as 240pin memory/quad-core becomes the norm.

    Also, I have 128-bit RAM, will this limit the video card to 128-bit? I am not good with computer.
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    video card will be the bigger difference for when you watch HD video.
     
  3. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    adding 2gb of ram would be a very silly thing to do

    you want a new video card
     
  4. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
    This might be a dumb question, but bear with me. I have XP, don't want Vista, if I use a DX10 card, will it also run DX9?
     
  5. Paulblo

    Paulblo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland
    Yes, you shouldn't be getting hiccups with your current setup though
     
  6. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
    If a good 720p video has something like, a flock of a billion birds, or full-screen rippling water, or running through a jungle (like in Apocalypto), it hiccups.
     
  7. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
    It did it slightly more when I had a 2gig single core AMD. I was hoping the 4200 would help more than it did..
     
  8. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    i would think your processor would be plenty powerful to run HD video, especially 720p. :hs:

    perhaps you have another problem that is causing this

    you could upgrade your video card to a 8*** nvidia or ati 3*** and it will take most of the load away from your CPU in HD video
     
  9. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    video card

    2gigs is plenty for xp and decent with vista
     
  10. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
    My current card, the 6800XT, has 256mb and a 256-bit memory interface, I don't know the clock speed.

    How important is the memory interface, and is it dependant on the mobo RAM, my RAM is 128-bit pc3200.

    It seems like all the 256-bit cards are kinda shitty, anything above that is out of my price range, but the 128-bit stuff, I can get with twice the ram, and presumably a much higher clock speed than what I have.
     
  11. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
  12. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    do not buy a 7950
     
  13. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
    why?
     
  14. Paulblo

    Paulblo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland
    I'm thinking there is definately another problem with your system. I run full 1080p movies on my athlon 3000+ with a 6600gt with no problems, i can run 720p stuff on my shitty laptop. could be driver issues i guess or something using a lot of your cpu.
     
  15. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
    I just tried an updated video driver, slowed my shit down like crazy, couldn't get the colors/gamma right, it was a nightmare, reinstalled the old driver.

    I've also tried ending all but the necessary programs, doesn't help.
     
  16. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
    It only hiccups on the most busy stuff, I'm talking like three out of the 100's of mkv's I have have a scene like that.
     
  17. Paulblo

    Paulblo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland
    how about video codecs? do you have a codec pack installed?
     
  18. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
    Yeah, k-lite and CCCP, but they're kinda old now that I think about it..
     
  19. Paulblo

    Paulblo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland
    try updating. the HD stuff has changed a lot i think
     
  20. Macgyver

    Macgyver Deep beneath the rolling waves...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ...In labyrinths of coral caves, PA
    OK, re-installed CCCP and the stutter is mostly gone. It did hiccup, but it was basically not noticable, a fraction of a second.

    Thanks :)

    I still wanna upgrade though, lol...
     
  21. Paulblo

    Paulblo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland
    get the video card first
     
  22. Idea of Evil

    Idea of Evil Struggle

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    121,835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abyss
    video card brologna
     
  23. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    Do the video card, the ram won't make a noticeable difference and you have plenty of proc power there for watching videos.
     
  24. Idea of Evil

    Idea of Evil Struggle

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    121,835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abyss
    i hiccup on 1080 :(

    and thats with an opteron 165 at 2.75GHz and 2GBs of RAM and a 7900GTX with 512MBs of RAM :hsugh:
     
  25. Malkavian Star

    Malkavian Star New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Make sure you have the CoreAVC H264 video decoder installed.
    I play all my downloaded HDdvd and BlueRay rips without a so much as a hitch,and I have a crusty old ATI Radeon 9600 128 mb card.
     

Share This Page