What would prevent your computer from finding a webpage?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bigsnake, Mar 11, 2007.

  1. Bigsnake

    Bigsnake OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    34,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    There is a webpage I visit and they recently switch servers and my computer won't find their page even though they said it's back up.

    I've followed their instructions they sent me (i.e. restarted computer, reset modem and router) but it still won't work. I've tried other computers as well at my apt and my parents house. The only one that worked is a school computer.

    Here's a link, who else can or can't get to it? http://www.nextlevelguitar.com
     
  2. Tk

    Tk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,079
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    nw iowa
    delete your cache / temp. internet files, close your browser, reopen and try again
     
  3. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Lots of things. First is the TTL (Time To Live) entry in your DNS cache. If the IP address that is assigned to that DNS name is still "valid", it simply uses the one that is cached. That is reset every time you reboot however. Secondly, the DNS entry that is changed on their end has to propagate to the internet. That can take up to 48 hours depending on their Domain Name Host and your ISP.

    It works for me and it will for you eventually.
     
  4. Bigsnake

    Bigsnake OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    34,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    Just tried and no success :wtc:
     
  5. Bigsnake

    Bigsnake OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    34,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    I hope so. I think they said they switched servers the end of last week, so it's probably been more than 48 hours.

    Is the IP address it goes to just stored on your computer? He said if it didn't work after doing stuff on my side, then I need to call my ISP and have them reset a cache on their side? :dunno:
     
  6. Jago

    Jago It helps if you hit it.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2000
    Messages:
    27,965
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks like the DNS change has not propagated yet. It doesn't come up for me either btw.
     
  7. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a 404 the first time I clicked the link but the second time it came right up.
     
  8. Bigsnake

    Bigsnake OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    34,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    Thanks everyone

    So, there really isn't anything I can do but wait?
     
  9. Tk

    Tk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,079
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    nw iowa
    guess so..... it pulled up on the first attempt for me, but i guess a couple others have had the same issue you are having. give it another 24-48 hrs. :dunno: what else to say
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
  11. Bigsnake

    Bigsnake OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    34,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    That link with the suggestion of:

    Fix your shit y0
     
  13. Bigsnake

    Bigsnake OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    34,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    :rofl:

    Well, I sent him that link.

    He sent me back the ip link for the main page and told me that should work and to use firefox. None of the links work though. argh.
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Run the command "ipconfig /flushdns". That should eliminate your computer's IP address cache as the source of the problem -- sounds like there are other problems, though.
     
  15. Bigsnake

    Bigsnake OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    34,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    There are. I was at campus earlier and tried to get there from a computer there. No luck.
     

Share This Page