What would cause AIM and certain websites not to load?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by quzur, Aug 21, 2006.

  1. quzur

    quzur Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    14,400
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Chicago
    For about two days now AIM will not load nor will cnn.com or timewarner.com. I have had no problems with any other sites or Yahoo messenger. This is happening on both my desktop and laptop computers. I have Trend Micro firewall and turned it off and it still does not work. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Jaysin

    Jaysin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston Tx (Woodlands)
    router?
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    aren't those services all owned by the same company?
     
  4. quzur

    quzur Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    14,400
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah, that's the crazy part.
     
  5. quzur

    quzur Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    14,400
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Chicago
    I do have a Linksys wifi router. What should I look at changing?
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe your ISP and AOL Time Warner are having a dispute.
     
  7. quzur

    quzur Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    14,400
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Chicago
    I'm on Comcast
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    What other programs are running in your task bar?
     
  9. quzur

    quzur Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    14,400
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Chicago
    I understand that...I think we would all know if COMCAST is having a fued with AOL Time Warner.
     
  10. Smork

    Smork Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    16,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Socal
    Comcast was bought out by Timewarner wasn't it?
     
  11. quzur

    quzur Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    14,400
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Chicago
    It times out when I do this.
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try Yahoo, Google, MSN, and all the other websites you can think of. If it's only a few places you can't get to, it's probably not your equipment at fault.

    That said, I can cure the vast majority of home network problems that I run across by unplugging the router AND the modem for about ten minutes.
     
  13. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Try directly connecting to the modem (bypass the router) and see if you run into the same problems.
     

Share This Page