What would be my best bet for career v.computernerd

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 95vr4, May 10, 2006.

1. 95vr4

95vr4 OT Supporter

I'm 21 and went to community college for a year and a half and then started working full time. I've pretty much made up my mind I want to do computer programming for a living, which is what I do now. I developed, integrated and maintain an asp/mysql e-commerce site for the company I work for (doing a couple million a year in web sales). Integrated it into our pos and ups software's db4 databases linking them to the web servers databases and writing queries in access. I'm to the point now where I need to make a decision on what to do. I've self taught myself everything I need to know, I honestly think Google's better than any college class if you know what to look for. Unfortunately google doesn't give out degree's. Would it be worth it for me to go back to college? Are certifications a good alternative (MS, mysql, oracle?)? Or should I start looking for a job now? (my current employer doesn't quite understand the difference between what I'm doing and the average kid that knows a little html...can't see getting much more than $12/hr)

Just wanted to get some opinions from people in this field. Thanx for reading, and any advice :wavey:

2. samm

samm Next in Line

go back to school and get a 4-year degree.

3. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member