What was the dumbest thing you did when setting up your computer?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ribbie, Sep 7, 2005.

  1. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,814
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    204
    I'm just preparing myself to build my first system and have been doing a lot of reading. I feel confident that I won't have any major problems but thought it may be beneficial to get some advice from the fellowship.


    So looking back, what was the worst thing you did or thing you regret most about your system setup.
     
  2. anjego

    anjego Invading your economy!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    33,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    i bought a weaker mobo cuz i thought i would use the onboard video :o

    other than that a big fuckup i made was putting the front panel USB connectors on the wrong way and shorting the motherboard :noes:
     
  3. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    i forgot to connect the atx power plug one time, about 8 years ago

    does that count?
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    I put a floppy cable on backwards once back in the day.
     
  5. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Pulled out a tv tuner while the motherboard was still running and arced it acrross the video and network card. Besides not turning on for 5 minutes nothing was wrong with it.

    In my defense I was in like 9th grade...
     
  6. Apothis

    Apothis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I once got a brand new mobo and cpu. I broke both the cpu and the mobo socket trying to install. Expensive lesson learned: don't force it.
    :hs:
     
  7. Subie Driver

    Subie Driver Eye see what you did there.

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    I built a new system one time, and when it came time to power it up for the first time, I realised I didn't have a PS2 mouse or keyboard for it. That's abot the worst that has happened to me when building a system.

    I once bought a prebuilt system, and that was a mistake. Crappy mobo, no AGP slot, and couldn't disable the on-board video. Had to find a VooDoo2 card that was PCI, and then the onboard video out went into the VooDoo card, then out of that to the monitor.
     
  8. c-f0o

    c-f0o New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    13,003
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SOUL COW
    was trying to add thermal paste, then put the cpu back in the wrong way causing 2 pins to bend
     
  9. AeroSquid

    AeroSquid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9,627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    i put a hsf on backwards on a Barton core 2500+ but it lived through the ordeal.
     
  10. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put in RAM backwards once. I didn't think it was possible but I some how forced it into the slot thinking it was alright.

    No major damage was done other than melting the slot I jammed it into. Thankfully the other slots worked fine.
     
  11. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,459
    Likes Received:
    12
    When I started building solaris boxes like 10 years ago, it prompts you for a hostname.

    I hit "y" thinking it was asking me if I wanted to setup a hostname, but actually asked for a hostname. Thus at the end of the installation, the name of the machine was

    Y
     
  12. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    I've done that too. Fried 1GB of ram, but the motherboard was ok.
     
  13. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,925
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    When building a computer? Nothing too serious... I once setup my jumpers wrong for the lights on my case. The stupidest thing I did while ON a computer? Accept a file over icq called "me.jpg.exe". :hs:
    I was only a few months old in the computer world. :hs:
     
  14. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,814
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    204
    :rofl::rofl::rofl:
     
  15. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,814
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    204
    :rofl::rofl::rofl:
     
  16. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I setup a server in front of our proxy with a public IP during the install process.
     
  17. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    ummm put the power for a floppy drive off by 1 pin causing gray smoke to pour out of the psu. i was lucky, only the psu was damaged
     
  18. Burns45678

    Burns45678 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    you know how they show the amd sticker on the processor on the box...
    yea
    a bunch of funny stories like that are at
    http://rinkworks.com/stupid/
     
  19. alreadyDEAD

    alreadyDEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vegas / colo spgs
    I recently bought a PSU with the 20 pin ATX not realizing my motherboard/processor required the 24 pin ATX. That sucked for two weeks waiting for the damn replacement to arrive.
     
  20. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Thought that the thermal grease was supposed to go on the outside of the heatsink of my CPU





    ...jk
     
  21. S14DB

    S14DB Lethologica

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Floriduh...
    You know they make a adapter harness. My Ex has been running one for a couple months now.
     
  22. Burns45678

    Burns45678 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    must suck even more now seeing as you could have taken a quick trip to compusa and had the problem fixed wiht a simple adapter
     
  23. MacandCheese

    MacandCheese Mmm Mmmm Goood ;)

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    put on floppy cable backwards once. I also pulled out an old cpu without turning that little lever so the pins got all bent up. Luckily, i was able to bend them back enough for it to go back in and work :o :)
     
  24. alreadyDEAD

    alreadyDEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vegas / colo spgs
    I got over it. It can nice to live without a computer for a month. (sometimes)
     
  25. ledzep73

    ledzep73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    I tried to force ram in once and broke the slot. I wasn't sober, and shouldn't have been fucking around with a computer.
     

Share This Page