SRS What to expect from a therapist / therapy.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Paulie Walnuts, May 2, 2008.

1. Paulie Walnuts

Paulie Walnuts Im an agent of chaos

Hello all.

Let me start by saying thank you to those that have reached out to me thus far especially Chris whom literally saved my life one night.

A little background, I am facing a divorce that I do not want because of mistakes that I made. I love my wife more than anything in the world and all I have ever wanted to do was raise a family and be loved. Insecurities and other things (I will answer questions if you have them) led to her leaving coupled with an incident 5 weeks ago. I have long suffered from depression and it is now believed that I am type 2 bi-polar.

With that said, I am have been in therapy several weeks now and I want to know what I should expect from my therapist in the way of treatment et al from those that have been through it. A lot of you have stated that it is has been very beneficial to you and I want to know what you did or what the therapist did to help it make it beneficial for you. Right now I am at one session a week but starting week after next we are kicking it up to two times a week to get me through what I am going through now. I wish I could see him everyday :wtc: Please feel free to share your stories and thoughts and anything that you want. Right now the Alice In Chains song, "Nutshell" pretty much sums up things:

We chase misprinted lies
    We face the path of time
    And yet I fight
    And yet I fight
    This battle all alone
    No one to cry to
    No place to call home

My gift of self is raped
    My privacy is raked
    And yet I find
    And yet I find
    Repeating in my head
    If I can't be my own
    I'd feel better dead

Ryan

2. Darketernal

Darketernal Watch: Aria The Origination =)