What to buy with 2 grand !!!!!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Reaver2218, Apr 14, 2006.

  1. Reaver2218

    Reaver2218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    10,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    I have have been eyeing a mac for awhile now and now I have the chance to buy one and I just cant choose between a laptop or desktop I need help, if need be I could spend more than $2k I would love a 17inch power mac or maybe a G5 power PC I just cant decide what to get.

    I need OT's advice
     
  2. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    macbook pro
     
  3. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    ^
    what he said.
     
  4. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,753
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    dual core mac mini and a decent display.
    or a mac book pro
     
  5. Inferno

    Inferno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    well you need to decide if you need a desktop or a notebook. if a notebook then Id get the MBP, but if a desktop then Id get a PC, but thats just me.
     
  6. Reaver2218

    Reaver2218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    10,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    well I have a home built PC so I will probably get the laptop but I dont know if the laptop will be able to run programs like garage band or other production programs.
     
  7. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    the macbook pro will take anything you throw at it.

    However, the Adobe programs (PS, image ready etc) are not yet ported to work on intel so they run a bit slower than they should, however I've read that its pretty equal to the speed of PS on a G4 powerbook (pretty damn good).

    The Adobe programs will be released in universal soon enough, they've been working on it for a while.
     
  8. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    if it was me id roll with a 20" imac. for the price, it doesnt get much better. 20" screen, big ass HD, etc etc..
     
  9. Gary78

    Gary78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    6,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    :werd:

    I'm about to hit the Apple shop and pick up a new one today. :big grin:
     
  10. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you don't need the desktop, get the MBP. Max out the ram and you'll be good to go.
     
  11. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,753
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    doesn't really matter now that bootcamp is available, you'd just restart into xp and run any adobe program
     
  12. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas

    im posting from a 20" 2.1 Ghz G5 as we speak. best computer ive ever used. :bowdown:
     
  13. Reaver2218

    Reaver2218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    10,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    well looks like its going to be a mac pro ftw
     
  14. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    yeah, but you'd have to aquire that adobe for Windows.

    Plus, can you access the macintosh's partitions in boot camp? and vise versa? I'm assuming you have to partition your HD, one for windows and one for mac (can't have two HD in a Laptop.
     
  15. nashstradamus

    nashstradamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    get a 20" imac
    spend the rest on eyeTV, more ram, and programs
     
  16. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas

    +1
     
  17. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    iMac or mbp
     

Share This Page