A&P what the f$%K vs image quality

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by OneTonGoldfish, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. OneTonGoldfish

    OneTonGoldfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central texas
    i just got a d300 and posted some pictures yesterday. after comments of poor image quality I decided to try shooting in raw.

    well I set up the camera and took a picture in raw and then took the exact same picture in basic (lowest quality). The basic is 1mb and the raw is 11mb

    Now i got both pics on my computer zoomed in and they look EXACTLY the same (shitty shit fucking shit quality) :mad:WTF!? could there be somthing wrong with the camera???

    i want to post them, how do i go about this with the nef raw image? convert then resize? i am clueless :hs:
     
  2. EWhytsell

    EWhytsell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    The RAW image needs to be saved as a TIFF or JPEG to be useful.
     
  3. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    user error... it is your first dslr. Set the camera down in a well lit room, set it to P mode, quality L/fine and turn on the self timer let focus it on something. Make sure your iso is as close to 200 as you can get it. nr off, active d lighting off. Set picture control to standard or neutral take a pic, post the full size jpeg straight off camera for us to judge. Or at least post the image unedited and a 100% crop of the center.Could be the camera.

    You bought the camera used so maybe you need to reset the settings and controls back to default settings.

    I read your other threads, and just kept wanting to say "the camera doesnt take good pictures" the photographer does. No matter how much you spend on a camera unless you know how to use it, your results will be shit. But let us see the pics and we'll try to help you figure it out. Lots of d300 owners on this board.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  4. EWhytsell

    EWhytsell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh also looked at your pics EXIF data again from yesterday and you shoot them in ISO 1400. Thats not gonna give a super pictures anyway. ISO 100 or 200 is where I like to be, but I do get above 1000 when I have to get the shot and thats where noise reduction software gets used.
     
  5. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    Ya but his pictures were extra crappy... no offense intended but the high iso was the least of the problems. Besides d300's arent that noisy up high.... especially at the sizes he posted. Which reminds me... Im sure photobucket mangled them too. Only use photobucket to host unimportant images... jokes images etc.

    No noise reduction on any of these
    iso 800
    [​IMG]

    iso 1600
    [​IMG]

    iso 3200
    [​IMG]

    Hell I took this one at 3200 because I wanted noise, and still didnt get noisy enough.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. ericande

    ericande Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you were using photobucket, that's a huge part of it. It's like saving jpgs at quality 2.
     
  7. hash browns

    hash browns lolcathlon champion OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    95,391
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach, CA
  8. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    thanks for the brilliant iso comparisons wrong1 :hs:
     
  9. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    more helpful than anything you've offered the thread :hs:



    I don't use high iso often, it was all I had handy
     
  10. yexy

    yexy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada

    Oh, I -love- pebble cake! I mean...er...:coolugh:
     
  11. someonenew

    someonenew He's Dangerous

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    104,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    the D300's best ISO performance is supposed to be at 200
     
  12. OneTonGoldfish

    OneTonGoldfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central texas
    ok here it is..
    info-
    D300 with 18-200 lens

    P mode
    quality L/fine
    self timer
    iso 200
    nr off
    active d lighting off
    picture control- standard
    unedited
    100% crop

    f5.6
    1/1.6
    48mm

    [​IMG]
     
  13. OneTonGoldfish

    OneTonGoldfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central texas
    here is a 100% crop from the other day

    5.6
    1/500
    iso 250
    170mm
    fine/L
    [​IMG]
     
  14. xconverge

    xconverge OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,414
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    what focusing mode are you using?
     
  15. ov3n

    ov3n Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could his camera be back focusing by mistake?
     
  16. xconverge

    xconverge OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,414
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    yea it could, the d300 has adjustments to focusing to, check those and make sure they are +0 -0 all set to default. Its in the menus somewhere.
     
  17. Sympathy

    Sympathy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31,024
    Likes Received:
    81
    Your shutter speed was at 1/1.6 and you were shooting w/ the 18-200vr.
    The lens isn't one of best in terms of image quality, unless you bought fusionz06's copy. :o
    at 1/1.6 the shutter is open way too long for you get a clean shot unless you were using a tripod. even w/ the vr, im not sure you'd get a really clean shot. Only our god Ken Rockless could accomplish such a feat. :o
     
  18. 1992 240SX

    1992 240SX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Could be the lens? I've never liked the 18-200 (some people love them), the second one has WAY too much shake for 1/500. Can you get your hands on a 50mm or something, so you can compare image quality off of that.
     
  19. Sympathy

    Sympathy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31,024
    Likes Received:
    81
    there could be several reasons.
    1. maybe you didn't have the camera focused on the bird. on top of the fact you're not used to the camera, i assume the bird was pretty far away and it was a moving subject. :dunno:
     
  20. OneTonGoldfish

    OneTonGoldfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central texas
    both taken with manual

    should i be taking with single servo AF and single point?
     
  21. xconverge

    xconverge OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,414
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    try autofocus for testing purposes. single point will get the job done. Take a picture of a soda can on your desk with decent lighting or something, get the shutter speed > 1/150, zoom in a little around 50mm, focus shoot.
     
  22. OneTonGoldfish

    OneTonGoldfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central texas
    ok this was taken in single servo, AF, single point

    on a tripod with timer

    1/15
    f4.5
    iso200
    48mm

    quality L/fine
    nr off
    active d lighting off
    picture control- standard
    unedited


    [​IMG]
    100% crop
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  23. OneTonGoldfish

    OneTonGoldfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central texas
    It is pretty much complelty black at 1/150. I have the windows open, lots of light...i could go outside and try it. should i not use a flash?
     
  24. xconverge

    xconverge OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,414
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    well already I can tell its probably not an issue with the camera or lens. Just start shooting more. Shoot outside, the lighting is good and that helps image quality. Keep the iso low if you care about noise (you shouldnt, just care about whether or not you like the picture you just took).

    My first shots with my d300 were a bit disappointing and I had been using a d70 for years before that. It was just a matter of getting settled in, tweaking some settings to my liking and then working from there.

    I use center point autofocusing that is triggered by ONLY the AF-On button mostly and I like it the best. It makes it really easy to focus, recompose, and shoot. Also, I use the matrix metering usually but center weigheted has its uses with the exposure lock button to the left of the AF-On button.

    My best reccomendation is to just keep shooting interesting things, enjoy it, your camera is probably fine and its a learning process. I look forward to seeing some photos for critique in the future :) OTAP is harsh but I have gotten some good constructive (negative but useful :)) criticism. Good luck
     
  25. OneTonGoldfish

    OneTonGoldfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central texas
    just took the same exact photo but with 1/160 and flash... (this is a 100% crop)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009

Share This Page