what specific parts of xp do i need to install for it to shutdown proper

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 7lvis, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. 7lvis

    7lvis Guest

    it wont shutdown it continues to restart the computer shop told me i needed to finish installing it
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    A LOT more details are needed here.

    New computer, old computer, new install on old computer, first install on new computer. etc. etc. etc.

    And don't be a bunghole and leave out the hardware specs.

    :squint:
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeeeah...that's bullshit. Wipe the drive and start over.

    It WILL require a single reboot during the installation, but it will do that itself. After that, when you click "Shut Down" in the Start menu, if it doesn't shut down and turn off then something's fucked up.
     
  4. 7lvis

    7lvis Guest

    XP from 2002 computer is 2 months old.

    how do i reinstall just put the cd in when i am in windows and just install and it will overwrite everthing?

    amd athlon 64 processor

    3200+

    2GHZ

    448 ram

    XP
     
  5. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    If its the original WinXP from 2002 (ie, no service packs) it might have an issue with your new hardware. Try finding or making a WinXP CD with Service Pack 2 already slipstreamed in and use that to install Windows.
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    So you were concerned that a Windows install was rebooting during the install?
    If so, then you have nothing to worry about. Windows does reboot by itself during an install.

    And what is 3 months old, the copy of Windos XP?

    If so, then it has service pack 2 and you're good to go.
     

Share This Page