what smartphone should I get

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Dranian, Aug 25, 2006.

1. Dranian

Dranian (..)

I've been using a sidekick 2 for a couple years. The camera on my first one broke, so I got a limited edition mr cartoon one. Now the keyboard is lifting off of this one. So I need to get another phone, and given my reliabilty problems with sidekicks I don't think I want a third one. I've been pretty happy with the features on the sk2 but I wish it had a few more things.

I do a lot of talking on aim, web browsing, emails, and some txting so a good keyboard that's easy to type on is crucial. I'd also like bluetooth, gps capability, some sort of financial management software, some basic games would be nice, notepad or to do list of some sort, calendar/appointment datebook, 802.11g would be good, camera, mp3 and/or video playback, a web browser that can view pdf and java (sk2 can't).

Are there any phones that can do all this?
    I currently use t-mobile so I've been looking into the mda a little bit. I know I can get a plan that lets it connect to t-mo 802.11x hotspots which is kinda cool, and it seems like it has most of the feautres I want (dunno if it can do gps?). I don't like the keyboard that much but I could probably get used to it. I like how small it is compared to most other devices in this class like the treo and crackberry.

Are there any other phones that greatly outperform the mda? What's the difference between the mda and the xda2, xda exec, or mda pro? If I got an unlocked xda exec do you think itd work like an mda on tmobile? Like would it be able to connect to tmo hotspots even though they don't really offer that phone?

Anybody know when the motorolla MPx300 is coming out and if its worth waiting for? I don't know much about it but from what I've seen of the mpx300 it looks really good.

Thanks for any advice.

2. Stngray

Stngray A Member OT Supporter