What should I upgrade next for my computer to run AoC on the higher settings?

Discussion in 'Online Adventures' started by Monotone, May 26, 2008.

1. Monotone

Monotone New Member

Currently I have to run the game with 0 Ft of ground viewing distance just to get 10FPS and the game still slows to a crawl whenever I'm around a lot of people. I'm not very good with computers, but here are my specs according to right click my computer > Properties

Intel Celeron D CPU 3.33GHz
    1.5GB of RAM
    Nvidia geforce 6600 OC

My guess is my processor, since I have already upgraded everything else since I have had it.

2. XaPU!M

XaPU!M Active Member

http://forums-us.ageofconan.com/showthread.php?t=13390

There is obvioulsy room for upgrades. However, you probably don't have it set up right. Check out that link, it's a thread on the AoC forums to tell you how to get the most out of what you have. I went from 10 fps to ~23 fps

3. Vistrix

Vistrix So Say We All

Could you possibly copy and paste it for the European players? :x:

4. XaPU!M

XaPU!M Active Member

Game Mechanics - Setting Resources

"this is a portion of the guide that may continually become outdated and require change. So, take from it what works for you, and notify me if something changes so I can update it"

"Currently a work in progress"

Audio Options
    -- Not Implemented Yet

Video Options

Default Resolution: The higher the resolution, the more performance hit you will encounter. Using windowed mode, and lowering your resolution slightly will improve performance greatly.

From my own numbers, decreasing resolution to "half" of your normal value will increase your FPS by 20 to 25 frames.