what should I get for my lovely old G4 sawtooth

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jackjohnson, Jul 28, 2005.

  1. jackjohnson

    jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    40,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    I was thinking either a wacom tablet + another 512 gb of ram, or upgrading the processor from 450- 1.0 ghz. either option would be around $200.

    currently I have 640mb ram, osx tiger. it actually runs flawlessly for regular use but I'm limited to running illustrator, or photoshop individually and when I'm altering 10mb+ files the cpu tends to get pegged pretty easily. but still gets the job done.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I'd say CPU and memory... It's a little over your budget, but not too bad... And you'd see a HUGE improvement.
     
  3. inamorata

    inamorata New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    do the processor for now



    wait on the RAM


    you'll feel the different with just the processor so then in 5 months, do the RAM, and itll be ANOTHER upgrade :wiggle: :cool:
     
  4. LiekOMG

    LiekOMG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jenna Jameson's School of the "Performing Arts"
    I'd say CPU and video card. You didn't mention what video card you have (I think those old sawtooths came with a Rage 128), but a decently fast one could be gotten for $50 if you're willing to flash it yourself.
     
  5. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    video card + cpu for the win, but that's probably out of a $200 price range... so maybe just CPU for now.

    Remember that you're only going to get so much out of a CPU with the bus throughput on the sawtooth though :hs:
     
  6. inamorata

    inamorata New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    this negro makes a good point :eek3:
     
  7. untoastytoast

    untoastytoast The Glory Days

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Palace of Auburn Hills
    buy more ram and then maybe start saving for a new computer?
     
  8. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    link to upgrading cpu to 1gig plz :eek3: I have the dual 500mhz, does that apply to me too? :o
     
  9. jackjohnson

    jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    40,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    ohhh vid card to, yeah I got the stock rage 128 that sucks balls. I think I might just got with the cpu upgrade first. i wouldnt mind this thing being 200% faster (mhz wise)

    http://eshop.macsales.com/Accelerators/index.cfm

    enter your model and shit in there to see the available upgrades. they are pricey but there are options :bigthumb:
     
  10. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    :hsd: hawt! thanks. I wonder what kind of gains I would notice from dual 500 to single 1gig :hs:
     
  11. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    heh..

    even better for you (and me and the rest of the dual 500 G4 crew)...

    dual 1.8 GHz upgrade: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/PowerLogix/PF47D1800DA/
     
  12. asshole

    asshole dont eat yellow snow! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    everywhere..everyone has an asshole
    Proc upgrade would be the best option... duals rule!
     
  13. LiekOMG

    LiekOMG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jenna Jameson's School of the "Performing Arts"
    If you have a PC available, then you can flash most PC video's cards to be used in a Mac. Even a cheap $50 Geforce FX5200 would be loads faster than your rage, and even supports Core Image/Quartz Extreme.
     
  14. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    details please.
     
  15. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    details definitely needed.
     
  16. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    so... seriously though, would an upgrade to a 1.2gig processor be a decent jump from my dual 500s? Or am I better off just spending that money on a mini (or better yet, keep it and just buy a new powerMacG5) ?
     
  17. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    bumping your dual 500's to dual 1.2's would be much better than buying a mini, IMHO.
     
  18. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    of course but i was reffering to single 1.2 :hsd:
     
  19. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    are you sure you can put a single proc card in a dual proc machine? :dunno:
     
  20. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    according to previously listed site, they are compatibel :dunno:
     
  21. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
  22. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    let us know how it goes :cool:
     
  23. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    :werd: Will do... I have no idea how the fuck to even begin to take off the oem processor plate :o Apparently, it's a 10min job :hsugh: Won't be shipped until monday :wtc: but the shipping is free :cool:
     
  24. Fubar

    Fubar OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    PA
    I'd say go for the processor upgrade...as I think you'll notice more productivity improvement from a CPU upgrade with the specs you've given. I have a 1.2GHz CPU upgrade from Sonnet in my G4 which was originally a SP 450...and it made my computer feel like it was a new machine.
     
  25. Inferno

    Inferno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    512 gb of ram? :eek5:
     

Share This Page