What should I do with it?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PlayingGod, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. PlayingGod

    PlayingGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    I have an AMD XP 1600+, ECS Mobo, 80GB HDD, CD-RW, and a power supply... what should I do with it all?
     
  2. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    make yourself a server, or a home theatre PC.
     
  3. Mi[G]hTy

    Mi[G]hTy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ill take Harddrive ;)
     
  4. PlayingGod

    PlayingGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    No you wont. :fawk:
     
  5. PlayingGod

    PlayingGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Can you recommend a simple case? All I need for it is some RAM. (I think I have 128MB pc133.. heh)
     
  6. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    just get the cheapest one you can, unless you want it to look purdy.
     
  7. PlayingGod

    PlayingGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Could care less about looks.

    Turns out it's 256mb pc133, ill scrap that for some 2700.

    I also have a SB Audigy Gamer and GeForce 2 mx200.
     
  8. PlayingGod

    PlayingGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
  9. PlayingGod

    PlayingGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Hummz. How much ram would I need to make it a server?
     
  10. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    as much as you can throw at it.. if you plan to use it as a "real server". My "server" is only a 700mhz, but I have 384mb ram in it. It runs pretty good, but I have XP on it. Going to switch back to 2000 soon so the resources it has aren't gobbled up my XP.
     
  11. Juvenall

    Juvenall What Would Juvie Do?

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    #!/usr/bin/Detroit
    I run two servers here from home. The first is an old 1.5Ghz 512MB box I use as a web server. It's running XP Pro and Apache2. I opted for XP simply because I've done BSD to death and I wanted to try something new..heh. The other is a BSD box I use as a mail server. That's a really old 500Mhz/256MB box and it does the job perfectly.

    Off of all this, I manage to run 8 sites with 3 being really active (as in each with 100,000+ hits a month).

    If you opt to do the home theater thing, ditch the fans all together and find a good quality liquid cooling system. That extra noise becomes REALLY annoying, REALLY fast.
     
  12. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can make a sweet media center with that. Install windows media center edition 2005 on that puppy hook it up to your TV, use it as a stereo for when company comes over ... etc. The possibilities are endless. :naughty:
     
  13. PlayingGod

    PlayingGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    what kind of vid card should i get for it? the sound card in it is pretty good.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    an athlon xp 1600+ is not sufficient for a good media center 2005 pc. It'll work -- but not very well. ECS motherboard? I'm laughing.... seriously.

    I'd get a new mobo (MSI KT6 $60, for example) and throw *at least* 512MB PC-2100 in there. (The 1600+ doesn't need more than 2100)

    BTW, MCE2k5 really sucks up RAM. I would not recommend a MCE setup that didn't run dual-channel with at least a gig.
     
  15. PlayingGod

    PlayingGod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    I bought a case and 512mb pc2100, it's up and running, now I just gotta decide what to do with it.
     
  16. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    game server, mail server, a proxy, media center, or just a spare computer.
     
  17. Penetration

    Penetration OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    19,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MMM my ding ding dong
    Sell it for some extra cash, or use it as a spare/second
     

Share This Page