A&P What resolution do digital pics need to be to make a good 4x6 print?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Chris, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    like when you take digital to pics to walgreens?
     
  2. Sympathy

    Sympathy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31,010
    Likes Received:
    79
    usually 300 dpi is the max for places like that
     
  3. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    well, most of my pics are 7mp, but I want to resize them down to fit more on a flash drive, but I dont want to shrink them too much and then they come out shitty
     
  4. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    when resizing them like that, it will depend a lot on how you resize them and what program you use to do the resizing.
     
  5. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    well, most of them are just bar pics and my gf with her friends, that kind of stuff, she just wants to get them printed out to cut them to scrapbook

    so I would probably just get all the ones she wants into a folder and use the powertoy resizer on them, down to whatever size will be decent enough to not make the pics look like a game of tetris when they done at the photo place
     
  6. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    the powertoy resizer is shit. i don't even really like to use it for the web, let alone for print. if i'm going to resize a batch like that i'll use lightroom or acdsee.
     
  7. Joetabasco

    Joetabasco The Wing King

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I'm in ur cube, eatin' ur wings!!
    ACDsee... Wow I havent heard about that program in years... it work well for resizing?
     
  8. Furner

    Furner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    just forget about resizing them and just upload them to walgreens or costco or something.
    you can upload and order online and pickup in-store in about an hour.
     
  9. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    :werd:
     
  10. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    depending on your upload speed, it might still be a good idea to resize them before uploading.



    and there are newer versions of acdsee that work great for doing batch resizing. you can do some basic editing with the program, but the only thing i really use it for is batch resizing or renaming. :o
     
  11. NSX

    NSX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,942
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    none yo'
    For strictly 4"x6" prints, you don't need more than 4 megapixels. Hell, even a 3mp will do.
     
  12. AzraDark

    AzraDark New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    normally we recommend on 2-3mp camera not to use the lower resolution on the camera, to make sure you do not get any pixelation on the images you might want to make sure the image size and quality are set higher. Normally its when your trying to blow them up to 8x10 which might be pushing things on the lower scale MP.
     
  13. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    o rly ?
     

Share This Page