What OS should I run on my laptop?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Slimmy, Feb 19, 2003.

  1. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    I have an older laptop, since I built a new computer last year, it's perfectly functional other than a broken mouse and keyboard. :big grin: But I can easily get an extra cheap set of those, which I did for quite a while, I also have an extra monitor. Anyway, next year when I get my own apartment/condo/townhouse, I was planning on setting up the laptop possibly as a server of sorts, maybe ftp, or maybe web, not entirely sure yet. Anyway, I am curious as to what OS I should run? I can't run XP, and frankly I don't want to since I already know it pretty well and run it on this computer. I was actually looking to install a Linux OS so that I can learn it on my own and get some familiarity with it. So which one would be the best for me to install and would I have any problems with it?

    Laptop specs:

    K6-2 AMD 366mhz
    64mb ram

    :)
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    win98
     
  3. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    oops...you wanted linux. Freebsd 4.x is small and doesn't take up much cpu, redhate 8.0 is pretty though :p
     
  4. vwgeekdotcom

    vwgeekdotcom Silver Surfer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    mandrake 8.0.
    research it first, lappys can be a bitch to configure
     
  5. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    well yea, I don't want to throw something on it and have no idea what i'm doing.
     
  6. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    :uh: It already has 98SE. :p
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd: Mandrake is great as a first Linux system, very easy to get up and running. It'll run quite nicely on that machine, my main box is only a P3 500, 128MB and I run Mandrake 8.2 no problem.
     
  8. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Cool, thanks guys, will let you know when I actually get ready to do the install. Right now the laptop has nuthing but 98SE loaded on it. :big grin:
     
  9. Cr0mulent

    Cr0mulent Werewolf: The Last Warrior

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    6,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    suse is better than mandrake IMO

    btw that is what im using right now...
     
  10. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    read the post right after that. I didn't see that part :p
     
  11. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Is mandrake free or would I need to purchase it, or can it be easily found? :big grin:
     
  12. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    free except for the suite edition i think.
     
  13. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Can anyone find me a link? I've been searching but to no avail.
     
  14. tenchuninja

    tenchuninja Guest

  15. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    That site doesn't have Mandrake 8.0, what about 8.2? or 9.0?
     
  16. tenchuninja

    tenchuninja Guest

    try mandrake 8.2

    i've found that point-oh releases are really buggy.
     
  17. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
  18. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Ok, thanks.
     
  19. JazzHound

    JazzHound Guest

    I'm going to put my vote in for Debian. At work all the administrators ran Debian, but even a dolt like me can easily get use to it so I would suggest it as a ice breaker.

    It's powerful enough for the admins, yet flexible and intuitve enough for a beginner to use.
     
  20. BaZ

    BaZ 2004 ACC Champions

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hokieville, USA
    i wouldnt put mandrake as it is notorious for compatibility issues with laptops. i would try red hat 8 as that is what i have running on my laptop
     

Share This Page