What OS do you use?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by linuxpyro, Jan 9, 2005.

  1. linuxpyro

    linuxpyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, what OS do you currently run? I'm using Fedora Core 1 Linux...
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    FC1? why not update to FC3?

    I'm running Windows MCE2k5 on this box, FC3 on another, Win2k3Std on another, and Gentoo on my laptop.
     
  3. Chaotic Reality

    Chaotic Reality New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    29,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    XP Pro and FreeBSD 5.3 on my laptop, FreeBSD 4.10 on my server.

    I'd use FreeBSD full time but I can't get the driver for my sound card to work right. Sound doesn't play out of my laptop speakers, it only works if I plug my external speaker plug into my microphone port in my sound card, it doesn't work at all if I plug it into the speaker/headphone port. :mad:
     
  4. linuxpyro

    linuxpyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do work with audio. Mainly with Ardour and Jack. The 2.6 kernels don't have as great latencies as the 2.4 ones do. (Or, at least can have after patching. Low latency in general is better on the 2.4 series.)

    Actually I also have a couple servers running RedHat 9.
     
  5. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    Ubuntu :love: on Laptop.

    and Debian on home server.
     
  6. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    XP 64-bit on my desktop, XP Pro on my laptop, and debian "testing" on my server
     
  7. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    XP/Gentoo dual boot, though I dont find myself in Gentoo anymore cause im playing too much WoW.
     
  8. Juvenall

    Juvenall What Would Juvie Do?

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    #!/usr/bin/Detroit
    Windows XP MCE 2004 on my main system
    Windows XP Tablet Edition 2004 on the laptop
    FreeBSD on the web server
    Windows 2k3 for my mail/application server
    Red Hat 8 on my media server
    OSX on my Mac (though, I'll admit it's pirated. I only use the thing for Safari testing)
    Lindows on my "footrest"..just for fun.

    ..and a copy of Knoppix everywhere I go so I can brag about Linux..lmao
     
  9. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    xp pro
     
  10. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    XP pro at home and work, i'm getting a new laptop soon and gonna pop in WMCE2K5, couple of guys have it at work and its very impressive.
     
  11. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest

    XP pro on the main comp because I play MxO, 2 FreeBSD 5.3 servers, one might become a windows 2003 file server for the fam soon thoguh.
     
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Still using W2K. Laptop came with W2K XP Pro but no way of splitting the HD up easily (Imaged).
     
  13. aqiv20

    aqiv20 Guest

    WXP. Bad luck with Linux.
     
  14. mayfield

    mayfield Guest

    wxp pro!
     
  15. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    XP Pro SP2 on my Main Box
    XP Pro SP2 on my Game box
    XP Pro SP2 on my personal Laptop
    XP Pro SP2 on my work laptop, plus W2K, W2K3, XP, Debian, and 98 via VirtualPC
    XP Pro SP2 on my Development box
    XP Pro SP2 on my guest PC
    XP MCE '05 on my HTPC
    W2K3 on my two test boxes
    Debian on an old laptop
     
  16. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    :werd:
     
  17. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Windows XP Pro SP1 on the desktop
    Windows XP Pro SP1 on the laptop
    Debian Woody on the server
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    time to grab sp2... It's been 6-months public, already :rofl:
     
  19. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    I put it on my laptop....then swiftly removed it. Maybe in the next couple weeks I will try it again. :o
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    what problems did you have / did you not like about it?
     
  21. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    It killed my wireless card and I liked the old XP firewall better. :o
     
  22. JasonS

    JasonS New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    xp pro sp2/fedora core 3
    dual booting on desktop..
     
  23. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Running Ubuntu here.
     
  24. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    6 months out and it will still kill my laptop the same way it killed it when it first came out. I hate sp2.
     
  25. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    The way I figure it, I've upgraded over 500 computers to SP2, and not 1 has had problems that didn't exist beforehand due to misuse by the owner. (spyware, viruses, etc).

    Now, someone is gonna get pussyhurt, so before you do, I'm not saying you don't know what you're doing.

    So.... what got broken? Do you have a legit key? Are you using a genuine CD? Was your system up-to-date and free of spyware/viruses before the upgrade?

    Rob > What network card is it?
     

Share This Page