What now? (Networking)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DieCast, Dec 28, 2002.

  1. DieCast

    DieCast Guest

    [​IMG]

    Desktop PC with ethernet (LAN) card.

    Laptop PC with built-in ethernet (LAN) card.

    CAT5 Crossover cable, 15m.

    Both running Windows XP.


    I know theres a lot of network type people around, can you help me enable file sharing and internet connection sharing using my current setup.

    Quick help would be appreciated. Thanks :bigthumb:
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Put two ethernet cards in the PC

    One connected to the modem

    for the second one connect that one to a hub/switch and select "select IP automatically" or whatever that shit says.

    then when you plug in the laptop to the hub it "should" pick up the connection. I've had some problems w/ it before and had to manually select a random ass IP "125.126.127.67" to get it to work but if all the other settings are correct they should connect pretty easily because both are running XP
     
  3. DieCast

    DieCast Guest

    Im talking about a simple pc-to-pc-to-internet connection, all i have is shown in the image, i can go on the net with one pc at a time, but not both, which is why im trying to network them.

    ps. its sad, but i only have a 56k connection, i'll live
     
  4. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    ohh

    well my guess is just connect the two comuters and then seeif the network setup wizard works
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Computer desks ;)
     
  6. DieCast

    DieCast Guest

    It would take too much space up in my room, remember, i live in england = small crappy houses with small rooms.

    + desktop is only there temporarily.

    And comfy armchair for gaming.
     
  7. tenchuninja

    tenchuninja Guest

    you need two nics in the desktop pc, mate.
     
  8. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    He uses a modem to connect to the internet, so he should only need one NIC in each.
     
  9. DieCast

    DieCast Guest

    I managed to network them, sharing a 56k connection, the only problem is the file sharing and networking on different OS's.
     
  10. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    you said they were both running xp
     
  11. DieCast

    DieCast Guest


    They are both running xp, but i also have 2000pro (dualboot) on the laptop and it would be nice to have the network set up in both OS's
     

Share This Page