What is the best way for wiring DSL?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PC Principle, Jan 8, 2006.

  1. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    DSL has finally become available in my area and I will be able to connect for the first time on the 10th

    Right now my phone line is about 50 feet long from the phone box to my computer, and it is cheap wire. I am thinking about running some CAT5 straight from my phone box to where my computer is located. Is this a good idea? What should I look out for?
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,454
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Run Cat5 if you want but DSL is designed to run over ordinary phone line. The telco certainly isn't running Cat5 from the demarc all the way back to the CO. The only time running new inside wiring for DSL really makes any difference is if you're getting lots of crosstalk between the line the DSL is on and another line in your house.
     
  3. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just did. :hsd:

    I hope the DSL works OK when I get it. It's through Sprint High-Speed. As long as I can play CS:S and surf the web fast with it I am happy. It is a 1.5Mbit line and I can go up to 3.0 if I need to later on.
     
  4. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    My friend had SBC DSL and there really wasn't a difference in speed once he went from 1.5 to 3.0 as far as gaming and web surfing went.
     
  5. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK cool. So DSL is OK for gaming?
     
  6. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  7. Sabrewulf

    Sabrewulf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    Yea DSl is purty good for gaming i used to use it all the time. But that was when i was working the ISP and geting it for free. =) But'd id probably get away from using that long of a phone line. May degrade the quality a little, especially if its the cheap crap. But if you're gonna use Cat5, then just drop the modem with a short telephone wire right by the jack and run a cat5 cable from teh modem to your computer. but if you really wanna get cool, go outside to your NID and filter the DSL there and run your phone service on the reg/green pair, and on the black/yellow(i believe thats it), run teh DSL. So you wont need any filters in your house. But then again thats actually work haha. Tis what ill be doing soon when they finally hook my DSL up at my new house.
     
  8. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    :coold: I heard about doing that before.
     

Share This Page