What is input gain?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by johnson, Jun 14, 2005.

  1. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got an Xtant 301a this past weekend and been trying to get familiar with all the settings and jumpers. I read the tutorial on how to set the gain and it looks pretty straightforward with a AC volt meter. My problem is the input gain. What is it?

    http://www.xtant.com/html/techSupport/pdfs/301aIns.pdf

    I dont know if it's related to the input gain or not but when I first got the amp on Saturday, I took out my friends amp and put mine in. Played some music and the woofer didnt play very loud at all.
     
  2. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    You could most likely put the jumper at 0 and be good to go with most head units. Just look at the pics under the description for the input gain and set accordingly. Then adjust your amp gain after that. Good Luck!
     
  3. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just set it at whatever the preamp is?

    I set it at 0dB the other day and there was almost no volume coming out the subwoofer until I put in an EQX. Could it be that the amp was running off a rear output (HU only had front and rear outputs)?
     
  4. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    pretty much. did you adjust the amplifier gain control? the small dial near the lfq kind of in the center of the diagram. check that, may need to be around 1/2
     
  5. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had it all the way down and all the way up. It didnt make that much of a difference.
     
  6. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    try the jumper at +10 dB, also what ohm load of speakers do you have connected to the amp?
     
  7. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    if u need to hit me up on aim JRock10
     
  8. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    4ohm

    at work right now, no aim
     
  9. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    did you check the impedence jumper? that could make a difference
     
  10. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    wellll, aim me later if need be....bout to head to bed
     

Share This Page