What is considered high mileage...

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by strubbe, Apr 3, 2005.

1. strubbe

strubbe New Member

For trucks such as the Ranger, Dakota, S10 etc.? Edit - 97-99 models of the forementioned trucks.

I'm selling my Grand Am, and will be looking for a smaller type truck for about $5k, so I'm just trying to gather some information.
    Thanks!

Last edited: Apr 3, 2005
  2. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

10k or less per year is low mileage
    10-15k is average milage
    15k or above is high mileage

But I consider anything over 75k miles to be "high-mileage" regardless of age.

3. strubbe

strubbe New Member

Alright, thanks...

I'll probably be forced into buying a "higher mileage" truck with the funds I have right now unfortunately. How reliable are the engines in the trucks I mentioned once they get up around that 75k mark?

4. strubbe

strubbe New Member

4.3 in what truck? :hs:

I'm new to this stuff...

5. Diesel66

Diesel66 My standards for women is like rent-a-centers stan OT Supporter

S10 It is a great engine, very powerful for a light weight truck.

6. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

if you get an s10, make sure it has the 4.3L (262 cu.in). Great engine. The dakota is so-so. The ranger is the worst of the bunch. I'd say grab the s10.

7. strubbe

strubbe New Member

Roger. Thanks fellas, I'll start looking for some deals on S-10's in my area. :)

8. mooredodge

mooredodge 3,2,1 I'm the bomb...and I'm ready to go off in yo

As already said, the 5.2 in the Dakota is a great engine as far as reliability goes. I had one that went over 200k before someone else trashed it. My fiance has a 98 Dakota with about 43k on it, with the 3.9l. It's an ok motor for just driving around, no problems with it so far. I wouldn't try towing with it, unless it was something light.