what is best way to capture video from my DirecTV DVR

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LOLZILLA, Oct 20, 2008.

  1. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    k, thx


    Also, any operating system.

    I have os x, linux or windows xp or vista.
     
  2. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,753
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
  3. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    That looks like it's a DVR.

    I already have a DVR, I want to transfer stuff to my computer.
     
  4. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
  5. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,753
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    :hsugh:

    when i mentioned firewire, i was referring to connecting the a pc to the firewire port on the back of the dvr
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=403695

    the happagauge box is used as a capture device. when combined with certain software, it can be used as a dvr. this is basically the best quality you will get for a capture device currently, because hdmi capture is difficult due to hdcp problems

    component video will give you the best possible video signal. svideo is the next best choice. composite is below that.

    or you could possibly get a vga capture card and this:
    http://www.curtpalme.com/HDFury.shtm
     
  6. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you're saying I need a dvr for my dvr so I can record while I record?
    :hsugh:
     
  7. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Unless your DVR has a way of outputting to a computer, then yes.
     
  8. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    You want to record while you are recording? Are you trying to setup a way to record additional shows at a time? Not sure you can?

    If you're just trying to export already recorded video, then firewire is your friend. My DVR has composite out, and I use that in correlation with my Elgato EyeTV and my Macbook Pro
     
  9. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, my DVR has the works, so I can just use an elgato eyetv to get stuff from the box?
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    i may be wrong, but i believe those DVR files are encrypted in some proprietary linux format.

    you can probably take out the DVR's hdd and hook it up to a linux box,... then maybe find a hack or decoder or something to convert it to a more recognizable format

    otherwise,.. +1 on capture card/pc dvr method. just use the DirectTV DVR as the source. it would be realtime though, so it will suck
     
  11. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    That's possible on the encryption. My dvr (scientific atlantic) doesn't encrypt.

    Yes, LOL.. If it doesn't encrypt, then use elgato.
     
  12. jedimasterELMO

    jedimasterELMO Beer, boards, and Android

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    24,243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Somewhere in the USA
    soup dawg
     
  13. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tivo has some apps that allow you to transfer tivo recordings (.TS I think...) across the network from the Tivo to your PC. Then you use another app to decode that .TS into a MPEG or AVI file.

    When I had a Tivo it was great. I used that stuff all the damned time (took forever to move across the network though..).

    Then I got Direct TV and went with there DVR system.
    Direct TV has that DVR locked down pretty well. Without going to a hardware solution (as others have suggested) I couldn't find any way to use the Direct TV DVR in the same way I did with my Tivo.
     
  14. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,753
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    component video>s-video>composite video>rf coax video

    on terms of quality
     

Share This Page