What does OT think of this cpu/mobo combo?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Desolate, May 30, 2005.

  1. Desolate

    Desolate Kinda drifting in the abstract in terms of how I s

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    5,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1226599&CatId=1619

    Chaintech S1689 ULi Socket 939 ATX Motherboard
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Processor

    the price seems pretty good and the reviews for the motherboard seem fine, but
    when i click the processor, its no longer available for individual sale. i was wondering if anyone knew anything about it. it doesnt say if its a Winchester or Venice chip so i dont know if that will have an affect on overclocking if i wanted to.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    chaintech mobos == crap
     
  3. Desolate

    Desolate Kinda drifting in the abstract in terms of how I s

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    5,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    any reasoning?
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    they fail to distinquish themselves in any way, and their rma/failure ratings are below average. Stick with Asus and MSI for AMD motherboards... And Asus, MSI, and Intel for Intel motherboards. Those are the top-3, and there's not often a reason to stray from them.

    The only notable exceptions are a couple decent DFI LanParty boards, and an Abit board for those that NEED the overclocking control (99% of people, including those that overclock, should stay AWAY from Abit, however) and a few others every now and then.
     
  5. G-n-P

    G-n-P New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa
    dfi, asus, msi all make a good board for the 64bit amd

    if you are going to get an amd 64 at this stage at least make sure you get a rev. E chip (that one wasn't)
     

Share This Page