A&P What do you use for PP?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Joetabasco, Dec 27, 2007.

  1. Joetabasco

    Joetabasco The Wing King

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I'm in ur cube, eatin' ur wings!!
    I use Capture NX, PS CS3 and Lightroom. Usually stick with CapNX... but was wondering what you stick with and why? I am starting to get into wedding shots some and am trying to work out a flow to best help with the large amount of files.
     
  2. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    CS3...Large amounts of files Lightroom
     
  3. Joetabasco

    Joetabasco The Wing King

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I'm in ur cube, eatin' ur wings!!
    I really like Lightroom, but have found large picture count slows it down to a crawl... do you empty it out after you are finished with them?
     
  4. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Yeah nothing stays in LR.

    More ram :o
     
  5. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    Lightroom, I hardly ever use photoshop anymore
     
  6. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    Lightroom for most things, CS3 if I need to heal or do some retarded PP.
     
  7. Joetabasco

    Joetabasco The Wing King

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I'm in ur cube, eatin' ur wings!!
    I gues I will have to give Light room another run. I wasnt clearing the library and with 2GB of Ram it slowed everything to a crawl. Thanks for the tip.
     
  8. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    mine runs fine with a full library and only 1.5gigs of RAM

    what version are you using?
     
  9. Joetabasco

    Joetabasco The Wing King

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I'm in ur cube, eatin' ur wings!!
    1.2 I think. I just did a full re-install of windows and it hasnt made it back on the drive yet. I need to get 1.3 as I have about 12 gigs of D3 and D300 raws to go through :eek3:
     
  10. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    lightroom then cs2
     
  11. Matt-AWD

    Matt-AWD Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    38,663
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    OR
    Lightroom to do all my color correction and such, then photoshop cs3 if extra work needs to be done.
     
  12. brasheye

    brasheye Rotary Crew

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    6,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney - AU
    ACR then PS CS2.
     
  13. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    the residual oil from the bottom of kentucky fried chicken packs
     
  14. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    I usually use a toilet or urinal for my PP
     
  15. ThexToddster

    ThexToddster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    20,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodcrest, CA
  16. NJGuy

    NJGuy "Fuckmefuckmefuckmefuckmef uckmefuckmefuckmefuckm OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wtf, USA
    I try to use lightroom as its a great program with great features.
    Then use CS3 for advanced edits if needed.

    But lightrom is so horribly slow for me.
    I just use it as a library now.

    I wish it wasnt so slow/laggy on my weak ass PC.
    I want to start shooting all raw then converting to the adobe negatives.
     
  17. JordanClarkson

    JordanClarkson OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    59,945
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Go Dodger Blue!
    I had been using Capture One but LR blows it out of the water.
     
  18. kristin

    kristin my dog > *

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Photoshop
     
  19. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    I use Aperture :o to process my workflow and do basic editing, but for heavy stuff, I use CS3
     
  20. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lightroom for 95%

    Lightroom on a pc is like itunes, its slow and bogs down everything. Not sure if 1.3.1 helps any, but on a mac it now separates the import function to first import, then build the previews.

    I keep 50k+ RAW images in it and is just fine :hs:
     
  21. Dnepr

    Dnepr Guest

    Installing 1.3.1 LR right now :o

    Wanna see whats all the hype is about :noes:
     
  22. Airpoppoff

    Airpoppoff Vodka > Racing F1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kirkland, Seattle, Wa
  23. ThexToddster

    ThexToddster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    20,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodcrest, CA
    :h5:
     
  24. dooks88

    dooks88 need some bat wings

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SRQ
    i agree, lightroom on my MacBook Pro runs perfect
     
  25. 1992 240SX

    1992 240SX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    I used lightroom for a while but the sharpening tool is just so awful I had to go back to PS. That and you can't mask anything (unless I'm missing that?) like you can in PS. I still use LR to view my raw files but I don't really do any editing in it.
     

Share This Page