What do I need v. codec?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DeeRock, Nov 24, 2006.

  1. DeeRock

    DeeRock New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County/Bellevue, Wa
    I downloaded the third season of Arrested Development, and when I opened the first avi file, I have perfect sound, but no video. A Quicktime window popped up and told me I may not have all the needed software to play the files correctly.

    It then gave sent me to a page on Apple's site for 3rd party software, one of which was DiVX.

    So, what exactly do I need to download so as to be able to watch these files? I tried to open them via iTunes, which did nothing. I had DiVX at one point, but I think I tossed it.

    Anybody who can shed some light on my situation; it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Derek
     
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    you need DivX more than likely
     
  3. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    get divx directly from the divx site
    also get vlc player in case some things don't work with quicktime
    also get flip4mac to play wmv files

    that's basically all the codecs you'll need
     
  4. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    I am having the same problem with sound... the video will play fine, and there is no sound... I'm D/L those three, and I'll see if that works...
     
  5. DjShiznit

    DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
    I beg to differ. Just download and install this, it sure beats loading multiple players / add-ons onto your system, and lets you play nearly everything through Quicktime player (which is still the most stable, trouble free media player for OSX).

    IBVLCsackridersjumpme

    Edit: I did download and install the optional "Democracy" open source player linked at the bottom of the perian homepage. I think I like it a lot :) It actually feels like a mac app, kinda like itunes for video, and works with streaming video channels over the net :coold:
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2006
  6. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
  7. DeeRock

    DeeRock New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County/Bellevue, Wa
    "The following disk images failed to mount"
    Perian_0.5.dmg Reason: Corrupt Image
     
  8. DeeRock

    DeeRock New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County/Bellevue, Wa
    YES! AWESOME!]
     
  9. DjShiznit

    DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
    Hmmm, I just tried it and it downloaded / mounted fine :dunno:
     
  10. DeeRock

    DeeRock New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County/Bellevue, Wa
    I am using Camino. Issue maybe?
     
  11. DjShiznit

    DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
    Hmmm, perhaps. I'm using Firefox 2 right now. I checked and it downloads through Safari as well :hs:
     
  12. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    OK, I'v D/L everything in this thread, gotten 2 seperate torrents of Ice Age 2, and I still get no sound... all my other movies play no problem, but whenever I open this one I get no sound...

    I do get a Quicktime popup that says...
    Some necessary QuickTime software is missing. It may be available on the QuickTime website. Click the continue button to check for the software...

    then it links me to this page... http://www.apple.com/quicktime/resources/components.html


    Did I just get 2 bad torrents? what is going on here?


    EDIT: I've tried:
    3ivx
    DivX
    ffmpegX
    flip4Mac
    iTunes
    Quicktime
    RealPlayer
     
  13. DeeRock

    DeeRock New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County/Bellevue, Wa
    Unmute?
     
  14. Rustinpeace

    Rustinpeace Gonna end up a big 'ol pile a them bones. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Could also be that your sound output is set to 96000.0 Hz. Happens to me all the time. Something sets it to that, and I get no sound output, except from iTunes.

    Go into: Harddrive - Applications - Utilities - and open Audio MIDI Setup

    Look at where it says 'Audio Output' and change format to '44100.0 Hz'
     
  15. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    thanks, but nope... it was already at 44100.0...
     
  16. Rustinpeace

    Rustinpeace Gonna end up a big 'ol pile a them bones. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Ahh, then I don't know what it could be! Good luck.
     

Share This Page