What do i need to run dual monitors?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Robb, Nov 28, 2004.

  1. Robb

    Robb Guest

    I have 2 17" flat screen crts and i want to be able to run dual monitors, what is is that i will need for this? An upgraded video card? Thanks
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    either a video card that supports multiple monitors, or two video cards (one can be pci if one is already agp)
     
  3. sowapowa

    sowapowa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    i believe you can run two monitors if your video card has an agp and a dvi slot. one monitor would also have to have a dvi slot. you plug one monitor into the agp(blue) and the other into the dvi(white).

    this is from a suggestion i read in some other forum. I have not tried this personally.
     
  4. skooter

    skooter Guest

    True, but if you have two VGA monitors they sell an adaptor that goes from DVI-VGA, well most new videos cards come with the adaptor already so it is possible to run a VGA monitor from a DVI connector. Also there is no other software needed just two monitors, and either two video cards or a video card that supports dual outputs needed to run dual monitors.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :wtcslap: if you don't know, then don't post.... agp is brown, not blue.... and an agp card with dvi does NOT neccessarily support multiple monitors.
     
  6. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    i think he was drying to describe the vga output (which is blue)
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    again, not all cards that have a dsub-15 and a dvi will support dual monitors.

    it is more important to find a card that specficially supports dual mons.
     
  8. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Pretty well any new one will. My FX5200 does it just fine.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, but if you read the box, it says it does dual mons...
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I don't think I ever really looked at the box :embd:
     
  11. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    as for software. forget windows. ultramon is the way to go for managing multiple monitors. its definately worth the money, but you should be able to find a "discount" fairly easy.
     
  12. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    :werd: i love my ultramon.
     

Share This Page