What could be causing my problems with my internet routers?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Grouch, Aug 3, 2006.

1. Grouch

Grouch Guest

So my house is wired with internet drops around in different rooms. All originating at a central point where the cable modem and router and placed.

I had been using s D-Link router that would work for ~2 months before various problems would happen. Very rapid connects and disconcerts would happen for days at a time. The router would just stop functioning, all the lights would be flashing as they should but it wouldn’t be routing the connection to the various drops, though I could still connect to the network on my wireless laptop. I know that was a router problem since I could still plug in directly to the modem and internet worked fine. I would then have to reset the router and run the install cd over again to get it working, which would only help for so long before it would just die altogether.

That happened 3 times with 3 different d-link routers. I then switched to a Linksys and within a day it already lost connection and needed to be reset with the install CD.

I do torrent a lot but I don’t see how that could be a problem. Could some sort of surge on the Ethernet cable cause a problem? My house appears to have been wired wrong from the builder, the co-ax that is supposed to carry a cable signal does not so I’m using one off the 6 way splitter that sends signals to the rest of the house.

Any ideas?

2. mitrong

mitrong so cute

are you sure it's your router? i had a similar problem before and it turns out that my cable modem went bad.

3. Grouch

Grouch Guest

well thats the thing I connect to the modem directly and i get on the internet fine. If the modem could send some sort of signal or somehow cause my router to crap out I guess that could be a possible cause.

4. cmsurfer

cmsurfer ºllllllº