What could be causing my problems with my internet routers?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Grouch, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    So my house is wired with internet drops around in different rooms. All originating at a central point where the cable modem and router and placed.

    I had been using s D-Link router that would work for ~2 months before various problems would happen. Very rapid connects and disconcerts would happen for days at a time. The router would just stop functioning, all the lights would be flashing as they should but it wouldn’t be routing the connection to the various drops, though I could still connect to the network on my wireless laptop. I know that was a router problem since I could still plug in directly to the modem and internet worked fine. I would then have to reset the router and run the install cd over again to get it working, which would only help for so long before it would just die altogether.

    That happened 3 times with 3 different d-link routers. I then switched to a Linksys and within a day it already lost connection and needed to be reset with the install CD.

    I do torrent a lot but I don’t see how that could be a problem. Could some sort of surge on the Ethernet cable cause a problem? My house appears to have been wired wrong from the builder, the co-ax that is supposed to carry a cable signal does not so I’m using one off the 6 way splitter that sends signals to the rest of the house.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. mitrong

    mitrong so cute

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    26,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DC
    are you sure it's your router? i had a similar problem before and it turns out that my cable modem went bad.
     
  3. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    well thats the thing I connect to the modem directly and i get on the internet fine. If the modem could send some sort of signal or somehow cause my router to crap out I guess that could be a possible cause.
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    With a cable modem or with mine at least, the coax going to the modem should come off the first splitter after in comes into the house.

    I used to have mine wired through a 4 or 6 way splitter like yours. It worked for a while then crapped out. Put a 2 way splitter on the line that comes into the house. Have one output go to the modem and the other output to everything else.
     
  5. Deevan

    Deevan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    11,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA Posts: 4
    Are you limiting bandwidth on your torrents? NEVER use unlimited if you're using a consumer router, limit it to 80k up or so or you will freeze it up.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    pay instead of steal. problem solved!
     
  7. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    :ugh:

    thats assuming the torrents are the cause of the problem. A problem which did not exist under near identical configuration at a diferent house.
     
  8. Grouch

    Grouch Guest


    I will give that a try. thanks.
     
  9. joebenz

    joebenz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OC, CA
    or just try going a few days without downloading and see if it keeps happening. your router shouldnt shut down because of bandwidth issues. or check the qos on your router. i have a friend how had a cheap router and with his qos settings, if it hit the max, his internet connection would die
     
  10. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Eliminate all points of failure then duplicate the problem. Connect one computer straight to the cable modem for a day and see if it still happens. if it doesn't connect it to a second PC. If it doesn't then, put the d-link back in line with the working PC and see if it starts then.
     
  11. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    just happend again. reset the router by unpluging it and pluging it back in and it seemed to kick in again.
     
  12. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I just ran into a router at a business that had wireless and ethernet. The wireless was the only thing that would work. Buy another router and get something better than D-Link.
     
  13. nozoki

    nozoki Hail to the king, baby.

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Housewares
    I was having trouble with internet disconnects recently. I have dsl with a wireless router. My desktop plugs into the router but my laptop is wireless. My modem and router had all the lights on as they should be, but I could not connect. It worked fine for the last few months but it started acting up when I added the desktop. I called my dsl provider and it turned out to be my router was using the same ip address as my modem. I changed one number in the router ip address and it's been working great since then.
     

Share This Page