What amp should I use for a Brahma 12"

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mycophiles, Nov 27, 2002.

  1. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I have no idea what amp to buy for this sub. Should I get a 600w or 1200w or 400w. Gavin your running 600w on each brahma. What kind of car are you putting them in. Doesnt this make a huge difference. Are you using ported boxes. How big are your boxes.:confused:
     
  2. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Can I run a 600w amp on this sucker and get away with it? Or am I going to need at least 1200 to make it sound good?
     
  3. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM Guest

    ARC 2500 CXL
     
  4. vtec1994

    vtec1994 It always rains at Le Mans

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    64,884
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Link please?
     
  5. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    500 doller amp? Why cant I get away with a 1200.1 or somthing. Heh... Ive been told by people that all I need are 300w and others say at least 1200 for that amp. I know I am going to spend a pretty penny on a FUCKING AMP so I need to make sure its the right one. Ok LOUDSYSTEM; why this amp? Good response time? Good lasting ability? Good resale value? What?????:bigthumb:
     
  6. flynfrog

    flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    :confused: :confused:


    ps that amp kicks ass
    :x
     
  7. DSHR

    DSHR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2000
    Messages:
    73,593
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    ATL|LA
  8. vtec1994

    vtec1994 It always rains at Le Mans

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    64,884
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Now will I be able to acheive SQ with say one Adire Brahma recieving 950 at 2ohms and a good set of components or will there be just a ton of bass???
     
  9. Gavin

    Gavin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    24,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I am only running one 12" Brahma. Putting it into a ported box with about 2.25 cubes.. tuned to around 28hz or something. The amp I'm using is an Avionix 1200.2. It's 1200w @ 4 ohms.

    Here's the website for some info on the amp: http://www.edesignaudio.com/ep/avionixx1.htm
     
  10. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM Guest

    get the ARC 2500 :slap:
     
  11. Gavin

    Gavin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    24,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Hey, you're the one that told me to go with the Avionix amp you geek. :fawk: Besides, I got a really good deal on it. Authorized sale too.
     
  12. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :eek: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
     
  13. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Whats the diff. of running 4olms to a speaker in camparison to 2 olms. More power?
     
  14. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM Guest

  15. Gavin

    Gavin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Messages:
    24,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  16. flynfrog

    flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
     
  17. flynfrog

    flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    see its shiny


    [​IMG]
     
  18. flynfrog

    flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    hmm i have some s100 should i wax my amp

    :X
     
  19. vtec1994

    vtec1994 It always rains at Le Mans

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2001
    Messages:
    64,884
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Atlanta
    How would the Brahma with the Revolution putting 950w into it sound SQ wise???
     
  20. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM Guest

    haha i waxed my arc 4150 that i sold it looks bad ass
     
  21. 04

    04 Guest

    You cant change the impedence of the speaker. YOu can however, change the impedence that your amplifier is driving. In that case, lowering your impedence will give you more power, so the 2ohms would put out more power than 4, but only if your amplifier can handle the increased current.
     

Share This Page