Well, my 20" iMac CoreDuo is dead :wtc:

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dnicol, May 13, 2006.

  1. dnicol

    dnicol shoopdawoop

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    Was playing around with garage band today, had the external speakers and the guitar plugged into the line-in. Everything was working great, I had my input volume turned down enough so that it wasn't screechingly loud, everything sounded great, i was pleased. then.. it happened.

    suddenly i went to push the volume up button and nothing happened. my computer no longer recognized any sound output devices. not the built in speakers, not the line out. I spent 30 minutes on the phone with an applecare helper, and nothing prevailed. I reinstalled OS X.

    I get everything started again, but the input volume stopped registering past 13%. I tried unplugging the speakers and setting them aside, and my screen went grey, and told me i needed to restart. the application OS X had quit unexpectedly:ugh:

    now, everytime i turn it on, the speakers and input are somewhat buggy, and if i try to plug anything in or take anything out of either the line in or line out the computer goes to the grey screen of death.

    should i send it in? should i do a complete install of OS X? Help me, or atleast console me:hsd:
     
  2. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    erase and install is your friend.
     
  3. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's been a while since I received my recording school certificate, but something tells me going directly from a guitar to the line input is pretty wrong. A guitar does not output a line signal.
     
  4. thezak

    thezak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    as long as the guitar signal is not powered, you should be ok....i think...at least i have been for the past year. :dunno:

    i vote erase and install, too.
     
  5. dnicol

    dnicol shoopdawoop

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    so if i want to continue to do this i should get a mixer board thing? one of those garage band tools? guess ill slap everything on the external HD. im worried that i fried something though.
     
  6. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Sounds like you fried the codec. I don't know what kind of load a guitar puts out. Lemme ask around.
     
  7. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    This would probably do the job: http://www.line6.com/pod/overview.html
     
  8. Eye For The Winter

    Eye For The Winter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Powerbook as taken a line in directly from my active bass and line out from an amp to line in on the computer and it still works perfectly.
     
  9. dnicol

    dnicol shoopdawoop

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    Thats what seems odd to me. The guitar isn't powered, there isn't a battery or anything in it. and I hadn't had the input volume at full blast.
     
  10. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Guitars, mics and turntables don't output a line signal, they need extra power.
     
  11. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Right, all those need pre-amps to boost the signal a bit.

    From what I can tell, the soundcard isn't dead in the machine, but somehow the driver might have been hosed. Might want to re-install (bare) OSX.
     
  12. dnicol

    dnicol shoopdawoop

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    fuck i can't get anything onto my external before it dies. i hate this!
     
  13. dnicol

    dnicol shoopdawoop

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    thank god for T+start button. so next time i want to record my crappy music i should get a little firewire mixer or something?
     
  14. Eye For The Winter

    Eye For The Winter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should do that anyway. You can get them for as little as under $100 or the Firepod is firewire for $500 and is pretty nice. They come in USB and firewire but I would go firewire. USB is generally cheaper.
     
  15. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You can record directly into the Line-In, but you have to mind your volume level going into the system. If you can adjust the level on the guitar, turn it down and gain up the Line-In level, it's safer.
     
  16. dnicol

    dnicol shoopdawoop

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    thats what i was doing! argh. i did a fresh install of OS X, completely wiped the drive and before the computer even gets to the desk top it tells me i need to restart. im returning it. fuck.
     

Share This Page