Weird Problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AnoesisX, Jun 9, 2007.

  1. AnoesisX

    AnoesisX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boca Rotten, Florida
    friend has a dell dimension desktop that he bought used from one of his friends. anyway i reinstalled xp everything seemed ok, he said he was installing itunes and restarted and got a message press F1 to reboot F2 to enter setup. Usually it says some type of harddive error then says press f1 to restart f2..... but nothing can't get into windows. But if you put a cd in it like xp cd or a bootable cd and not boot from the cd it then boots into windows. I tested the hard drive and ram both were ok. Bios settings seem ok. what could this be?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    fucked up mbr?
     
  3. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    BAAAAMMMMM!!!!!!

    Slap the WXP disc in the drive and boot up into the repair utility.
    Run a program called FIXBOOT

    Then do a thorough disckcheck on it. The hard drive might be going bad.
     
  4. AnoesisX

    AnoesisX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boca Rotten, Florida
    hmmmm thanks for the info....I did run a hard drive test 2 times and it pass. ill try fixboot
     
  5. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Um A+ is fucking useless. I know, I have one :o
     
  7. RiSk

    RiSk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irving, Texas
    if it says + behind it, its pointless....

    I am A+ Linux+ Network+ LCP, RHCE, and only one worth a shit is RHCE
     
  8. AnoesisX

    AnoesisX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boca Rotten, Florida
    nope, fixboot nor fixmbr worked. any other suggestions?
     

Share This Page