weird problem with reinstalling windows

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by T-R-T, May 21, 2008.

  1. T-R-T

    T-R-T New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to install windows xp sp3 on a computer from the cd. Through setup I deleted the existing partitions and made a new one. When I hit enter it says that this is not a windows xp compatable partion please go back and make a new one. I've installed windows this way many times before and I remember it is supposed to give you the option to format and then you can install but for some reason it won't do it. I've tried two different copies of windows and I formated the drive in another pc in NTFS and I still get the same message.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    pebkac
     
  3. T-R-T

    T-R-T New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe but I had someone else look at it and he didn't understand it either. Both of us have built computers and done this a lot.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    pebkac.

    and if you're using a non-legit cd then slap yourself in the face before i do.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Is it finding the hard drives?
     
  6. JayC71

    JayC71 Guest

    Press F6 is you need to install 3rd party drivers...
     
  7. T-R-T

    T-R-T New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes.

    I don't need to.
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    So why not delete all hard drives and create a new one within the installer?
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    delete all the hard drives? :eek3: unpossible.


    partitions, on the other hand... :hsugh:
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Sorry - partitions.
     
  11. T-R-T

    T-R-T New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I did. I've done it and done it. The next step is to press enter to install on the new partition. When I do this it brings me to the next screen which says that the partition is not windows xp compatable.
     
  12. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    wipe it clean outside of windows setup. use fdisk, killdisk, partition magic, whatever.
    then reboot from the install cd and try again.
     
  13. T-R-T

    T-R-T New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I did that in another computer. When I go back to the windows setup it shows that it has been formated in NTFS but when I hit enter to install it says its not a windows xp compatable partition.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    .
     
  15. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    fdisk or partition magic should have resolve any issues with partitions.
    how many drives are hooked up? try only 1.
    check bios settings. make sure it is the recognized primary/boot drive.
    why don't you need drivers?
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    1) You didn't use killdisk, or it would have cleared out whatever crap was causing the problem.

    2) Did this drive get formatted for Mac at some point? If so see 1.
     
  17. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    wipe the drive, write 0s to it with whatever program you want. then wait till the windows setup to format it. don't format it before you're in setup
     

Share This Page