weird problem when i telnet to my linux box

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by D1G1T4L, Jan 29, 2003.

  1. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    it's redhat 8.0

    everything goes all right

    but when i use man pages, i get some weird characters

    this is man page for "ls" command

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Nocera

    Nocera ...

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    /etc/sysconfig/i18n

    Change the LANG environment to 'en_US'
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yea, I get that too sometimes... I always just ignored it.
     
  4. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Code:
    [[email protected] digital]$ cat /etc/sysconfig/i18n
    LANG="en_US.UTF-8"
    SUPPORTED="en_US.UTF-8:en_US:en"
    SYSFONT="latarcyrheb-sun16"
    [[email protected] digital]$
    
     
  5. Nocera

    Nocera ...

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Yeah, get rid of the .UTF-8 part
     
  6. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    thing is, when i do the man pages on the actual linux box, everything shows up fine
     
  7. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    k that worked :) thx a lot

    p.s. how did you know that? i thought you don't use linux ;)
     
  8. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    He knows everything.
     
  9. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    :wiggle:
     
  10. Nocera

    Nocera ...

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I don't use Linux.... I do use Google though.
     
  11. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    another question:

    all my folders show up in dark blue (both on actual box and putty client), it's hard to see, any way to change the color
     
  12. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    what the hell did you enter in google to find an answer to my queston lol
     
  13. Nocera

    Nocera ...

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  14. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,443
    Likes Received:
    12
    The power of google...

    -crontab -l
     
  15. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :bowdown: On mine, the folders are light blue, but on my firewall they're dark blue I think.
     
  16. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i followed all those directions but now when i log in i get this

    Code:
    dircolors: /home/digital/.dir_colors:3: invalid line;  missing second token
    dircolors: /home/digital/.dir_colors:5: invalid line;  missing second token
    dircolors: /home/digital/.dir_colors:16: invalid line;  missing second token
    dircolors: /home/digital/.dir_colors:65: invalid line;  missing second token
    
     
  17. Nocera

    Nocera ...

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Well add the second token :fawk:
     
  18. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    and how exactly do i do that? :fawk2:
     
  19. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    i take it we arnt talking about tokin ring :fawk:
     
  20. Nocera

    Nocera ...

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Post up lines 3, 5, 16, and 65.
     
  21. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    line 3 in the code
    # pipes. 'all' adds color characters to all output. 'none' shuts colorization


    line 5
    COLOR tty

    line 16
    TERM con132x25


    line 65
    .com 01;32
     
  22. Nocera

    Nocera ...

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    The only thing I can think of is that the second token is actually the shell argument to dircolors. Try executing dircolors manually and specify the type of shell.

    dircolors [-b] [--sh] [--bourne-shell] [-c] [--csh] [--c-shell] /home/digital/.dir_colors
     

Share This Page