Weird PC issues..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DatacomGuy, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    PC Specs (I built this about 3 years ago):
    * Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000G ATX Mobo
    * Intel 2.4 GHz Processor
    * 2 x 512 MB RAM
    * Ati Radeon 9700 128MB Video

    Running WinXP Pro. I'm having some really bizarre issues. The PC will take a good 10-15 minutes to get to the login screen upon bootup. After PW is entered, takes another 10-15 minutes to get to the point in which I can use the PC. I can use it for 5 or 10 minutes, and then it turns itself off. No warning, no messages - just powers off completely.

    Issues related? Thoughts? I was thinking originally that maybe the HDD was dying and thats why the sloooooooow bootup, but I can't explain the powering off.
     
  2. Cat in a Hat

    Cat in a Hat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scan for Spy/Viruses, and then re-format if that failes. If re-format doesn't fix it, check all of your connections and possibly replace the HDD.
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I doubt I'll get through a spyware/virus scan. It only runs for 5 minutes..

    EDIT: let me also add that it won't even load in safe mode.

    I have no problem reformatting and reinstalling - but it shuts off after 5 minutes while doing that, as well. I'm willing to replace whatever component I need to, just can't figure out what is failing..
     
  4. bptillman

    bptillman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    power supply maybe?
     
  5. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    And the long boot up?
     
  6. bptillman

    bptillman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    oh...yeah forgot that part....
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  8. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    If you're not loading in safe mode it probably isn't hardware keeping that from happening unless your processor is too hot to touch.
     
  9. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Good thought. But how do I reformat and reinstall if I can't get it to stay on for more then 5 minutes?
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    boot to a boot cd, such as memtest86... Does it not stay running then? I've seen many systems that will simply "shut off" after 5 minutes in windows, but will stay running for days with a linux livecd, or memtest86, or seagate seatools. Subsequently, re-installing windows goes without a hitch, and once installed and drivers are installed the system is rock solid.

    software problems are just that -- software... And a reformat can fix that.
     
  11. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Nope.. same deal. I tried memtest86 three times.. turned off every time a few minutes into it.

    After the third time, I tried to power back on and it wouldn't stay on for more then 2 or 3 seconds. Did this twice, then upon the third attempt it started back up again to my UBCD..
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    have you removed the heatsink, cleaned thermal paste, and re-applied?
     
  13. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Will do now.. standby...

    EDIT: Shit.. out of thermal paste. Will have to wait until tomorrow :(
     
  14. mahal.

    mahal. mahal kita? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    11,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tallahassee, fl
    how long does it stay on if you stay at the login screen? it sounds like a power supply issue.
     
  15. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Your processor is going into thermal overload I'd bet.
     
  16. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    Yep, I'd check the CPU fan. Run it with the cover off and when it locks up, make sure the CPU fan is still working and the GPU (on your video card) is also. One of these can cause the problems you are describing.
     
  17. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Well, verified that and the fans are still running.. :(
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I hate how I have to run around the forum to correct coottie's misinformation.

    have you removed the heatsink, removed thermal paste, and re-applied?

    Also disassemble the fan and clean out ALL dirt.
     
  19. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    I wish your daddy had held you more as a child also...but hey, he was a jerk just like you.
     
  20. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Will be doing this tonight.

    I've been using stock heatsink/fan.. should I pick up an upgrade tonight? Maybe like the ThermalTake Big Typhoon..
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    ugh, do NOT get a thermaltake.

    I run a stock intel cooler on my 3.8GHz and the ambient temp gets over 110 degrees, here. System can get loud, but it runs perfect. Stock coolers are fine.

    If you want an upgrade, look at a Zalman. Maybe the 9000CNPs.
     
  22. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    BTW, checking whether the CPU and GPU fans are still working after a lockup/shutdown should be the first action. It's much easier to check and can actually casue these issues....I should know....it happend to me right after I built this comp. It was the CPU fan that was malfunctioning.
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    sure it wasn't PEBKAC?
     
  24. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I haven't heard that in years.. :rofl: Will reapply thermal grease tonight.
     
  25. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    :rofl:

    yes...I'm sure
     

Share This Page