Weird Computer Problem - Help!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kawasakiguy37, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. kawasakiguy37

    kawasakiguy37 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    ECS K8M800-M2
    Amd 64 3000 (754)
    512 megs of Samsung pc 3200
    512 megs of OCZ value pc 3200
    WD 50 gig IDE hardrive
    MSI 9800 pro AGP


    Recently installed the extra stick of memory, new mobo, and processor, and a new windows install. If I wait about 5 minutes after booting into windows and do ANYTHING intensive at all (even just opening up system info) the system hangs for a second, and then the screen goes black. (no video). Very weird, does not just reset. I dont have a CPU temp reset, and I do not think its overheating (when i restart and check cpu temp, its at 26 degrees celsius). I underclocked the memory to 100 mhz, put it on 2t timing, and cas 3.......didnt make an affect. Changed the PSU to one with more power (400w, 17a on the +12v). No difference.

    Suggestions?

    (btw, this is my friends computer)
     
  2. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    what happens if you pull the ram out? could be bad ram
     
  3. kawasakiguy37

    kawasakiguy37 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried different ram, still does it.


    Windows installed fine though on this same exacty system....and it was connected to the net for 5 minutes without a firewall or antivirus....think it could have picke dup something that fast?
     
  4. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    yeah easily.

    time to re-format and install from behind a firewall.
     
  5. kawasakiguy37

    kawasakiguy37 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, now that I have it at my house I can do that. Im gonna burn an antivirus onto a cd (latest version) so that I can install it asap as well. Still, most virus's ive encoutered and other spyware type things just bog things down.....
     
  6. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    Just format it. save you time. there are more holes in an unpatched windows xp pre-sp2 install then swiss cheese.
     
  7. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    will it hang if you try to boot another operating system? maybe try a linux livecd or even dos
     
  8. kawasakiguy37

    kawasakiguy37 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    I might try dos and then run some processor intensive program, see if that does it. Im gonna reformat it first though
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can find a memory tester online. You copy it to a boot disk and run it in DOS. It does what the memory counter does when you turn the computer on, but it's much, much more thorough. Plan to let it run for an hour or more.
     

Share This Page