Weird computer ip problem, need help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by G-man, Aug 29, 2007.

  1. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,578
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    CO
    Just bought a new computer and put XP corporate on it. The other day I tried to map to a folder I had on it and it wouldn't map and I know that it is shared because it's setup like my old computer is. Then I tried to ping the ip of that pc and it would time out. So I tried to ping the pc from itself and it won't ping there either. I can ping the loopback address and the default gateway though. I tried to reload the mobo drivers and that didn't work and tried resetting the nic with the netsh int ip reset netlog.txt command. Looks like XP doesn't allow me to un & reinstall tcp/ip.

    Just wondering what other option there might be. The computer can surf the internet just fine and does pull an ip. I have the internet connected off a router and it goes in via USB to the pc. Also noticed that if I plug into the cat5 nic that doesn't work either. Any ideas are appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. jvblackxj

    jvblackxj VW4Life

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you mean XP Professional? If it is an on-board NIC, Try disabling it in the BIOs. Then boot into windows remove all NIC Drivers you have installed. Reboot enabling the on-board NIC in the process. Re-install the Drivers when asked. If it doesn't work after that go get a PCI or USB NIC.

    I just read the last paragraph. let me think a little bit about this.

    Jason V
     
  3. jvblackxj

    jvblackxj VW4Life

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me get this straight. Your PC is connected to the router via USB?
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    PAY for your software. Problem fixed!
     
  5. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,578
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    CO
    yeah, the ethernet goes into an adapter that converts it to USB. I've been using it for years without any problems.
     
  6. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,578
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    CO

    :cool: feel free to buy it for me then, I need this computer for work so it fits the guidelines for use and have installed this cd of XP on several computers w/o any problems before until now.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    oh, got it. You won't pay for it so it's not my responsibility :rolleyes:
     
  8. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,578
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    CO

    what difference is paying for it going to do?
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    not having pirated software.
     
  10. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,578
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    CO
    so eventhough I've used the same copy to image several other computers and it has worked just fine except for this one, buying a copy is going to make it work :confused:
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's a start
     
  12. mrj

    mrj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc tpa sf
    Please stop the USB>Cat5 action immediately. :ugh:
     
  13. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,578
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    CO

    why's that?


    well it looked like the problem was norton's internet security software, I unistalled it and can now ping myself so it looks like it's working eventhough i was told I had to buy XP when I'm using it legitimately.
     
  14. mrj

    mrj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc tpa sf
    Converting any cabling is a bad idea, especially something involving tcp/ip, even if it is error correcting.
     
  15. jordanh

    jordanh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it gets an IP and surfs the internet fine, it sounds like a firewall problem.
     

Share This Page