A&P Wedding photography

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by haikii, May 14, 2008.

1. haikii

haikii New Member

So my brother's friend is getting married and i really think its budget as we were asked to do the coverage of the wedding. This is my first time ever doing something like this.. and i was looking for tips.

Also would it just be better to leave all the settings on auto and go around shooting? i usually use manual when i go shooting but thats when I can take my time and do re-shots whereas in the wedding I don't think some things might happen twice...

Cheers
    James.

2. Gvidon

Gvidon New Member

If you take the bride and groom alone for a photo shoot then you can take your time and take your signature shots.

And yes you are correct, its a live event, you have to always be on top of things. Start off by using program mode, and in tight situations, just throw it on Auto. Specially when people are waiting to take pics with the bride, just put it on auto.

Always take at least 2 pictures when doing important group shots, review, make sure focus is in place and eyes are open. Be really careful with focus, don't rush.

3. adamlewis88

adamlewis88 New Member

Haha until you learn the camera better, I cant give any better advice than to DEFINITELY take 2-3 pictures for every posed shot. It never fails that someone will be blinking or looking away or caught making some ugly face. :hsd:

4. Girth

Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

What equipment do you have and what are you planning on using?

Got a speedlight?

5. mojito

mojito New Member

tip 1 - don't do it. everyone is on a budget, thats the worst excuse. pics are all they'll have after, so if they blow their budget on flowers and food :greddy:

reasons to not do it:
    failed expectations often ends in broken friendship
    if you don't have the basics down for good lighting and off camera lighting, you're going to be miserable and ruin a lot of shots