Website Hosting Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dubbsy, Dec 5, 2004.

  1. dubbsy

    dubbsy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    [stupid] Question....

    Looking to pick up a new host...looking at 1and1.com...

    I currently have a personal website but am considering creating/running an un-related website.

    To host 2 seperate websites, do I need 2 seperate packages? (say using 1and1, I'd need a "Home Package" for each site?)....or can I have different URLs pointing to different places in the same 1000MB webspace within a single package?

    I would guess no....but figure it's safest to ask a [stupid] question. Thing that has me confused is the 3 included domains with the business package. All 3 domains point at the same site basically?



    -dubbsy
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    1and1 is basically crap.
     
  3. dubbsy

    dubbsy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    :squint:
    and you'r now the first to tell me that.....
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    are you being sarcastic? I assume so... Everyone I've talked to share the same opinion. But I've just reading your post and I can't tell what emotion you had when you wrote it, therefore I do not know for sure.
     
  5. dubbsy

    dubbsy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota

    nope.....

    Buddy had/has an account through them (car club him and I run). I know there are 2 accounts being used so I don't know how much use the 1and1 account get's used, but in talking to him the only complaint he had was he didn't like the control panel interface.

    have also had another guy reccomend them....


    I had asked here a while ago for a review... only reply I got was to watch out for domain hosting with them (having issues transftering later).



    ...so then what's "a good one"?
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    i've heard numerous complaints along the lines of being a slow, unreliable, and insecure host. Personally I would never use them, and have never considered them, so I can't offer you specifics. If you are currently using them and are happy, then by all means stick with them.
     
  7. dubbsy

    dubbsy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota

    no, not using them myself yet...

    Was moving from Glowhost (realize I was paying the same price for maybe 10% of what I can get elsewhere).....looking for something new.
     
  8. paintballah03

    paintballah03 My av has been stolen. :squint:

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,621
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't you just get a business package for $12.99 and have a lot more, including another domain instead of $13.98 for two home packages? Seems more efficient to me.
     
  9. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    I have 1&1 free 2yr hosting from last year - it works fine :dunno:
     
  10. dubbsy

    dubbsy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    ..... I could yes...but the question is...can I host 2 totally different websites with 2 different URLs under the same package, or do I need a seperate pacakge for both? See, for the time being I could probalby survive off of the Space/Bandwidth of the home package with both sites if I could host them both with the same package.
     
  11. ThinkTANK

    ThinkTANK New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    actually, can anyone recommend a reputable host in ny/nj area?

    btw i have the free 1and1 subscription and its ok. their email servers are unreliable at best.
     
  12. JasonS

    JasonS New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    If you get hosting, you can purchase something called "add-on domains" that you add on to your package.

    They share the same space, and on my host at least (baddabinghosting.com) the directory's go:
    public_html/
    +site2
    +site3

    while /public_html/ is the root htdocs directory for the first site.

    So I can get to site2.com by going site1.com/site2/ as well as just site2.com

    Shit I babbled.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    aitcomputers.net is in nj I believe. They're not the cheapest, but great service.
     
  14. DarqueGT

    DarqueGT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    same here. no problems....no downtime. quick tech support if needed.
     

Share This Page