WEB Webdev croo with Laptops: What do you have?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bowrofl, Oct 14, 2008.

  1. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    I'm looking to get a new laptop and I'm wondering what you guys use... specifically, people who are developing on the go. Laptop won't be my primary workstations but I'm away from that often enough that I'm interested in a laptop.

    What kind of laptop? Screen size? Resolution? Any complaints with what you have, and if so, what you would have rather have gotten?

    Right now I only do some simple web editing with HTML and CSS, but I'm trying to learn more about CSS to create table-free, clean designs. I plan on going onto JavaScript, with some light (very light) graphics work on the side.

    :wavey:
     
  2. MaK10

    MaK10 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    i like my MacBook Pro
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    Macbook Pro
     
  4. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
  5. TheDarkHorizon

    TheDarkHorizon \xC0\xFF\xEE

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    +1 for MacBook Pro
     
  6. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,914
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Macbook.
     
  7. Deviance

    Deviance Can't you smell that smell? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4,978
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Rocky Mountain High
    The smaller, the better. As long as the keyboard is big enough to type comfortably and the OS supports SecureCRT or putty, it doesn't matter to me.

    I have an Alienware laptop that is just too big for travel.
    I have an IBM thinkpad that is just too old.
    My dell d620 is a good size, but i have been looking at the eepc's lately.
    *looks around* Maybe even a mac book but I'll deny it if you repeat it.
     
  8. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    A lot of Apple fans I see... lolz

    For those with MacBooks... do you find the resolution/screen is too small for what you do? I believe it's 13.3" and 1280x800 res...also, a quick blurb of what you use your laptop for will help me get a better idea of what I should go for.
     
  9. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    dell is gonna have their 9" mini on sale this thursday.
     
  10. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    For some reason, I don't think netbooks are great for web development... screen is too small :hs:
     
  11. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    yeah it's too small for me. I want a light 12" or 14" widescreen laptop with linux and cheap hardware
     
  12. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
    dell inspiron e1505
     
  13. whup

    whup I wish you had children and.. so that I could step

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got an old Inspiron 8600 with 1GB RAM and it's my only computer.

    Trying to use Visual Studio 2008 + Opera + mRemote + MySQL, Apache etc = PAINNNNN

    If I want to open up another copy of Visual Studio or Eclipse, it sucks.
     
  14. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    visual studio is a memory freaking hog. i can't stand anything less than 4gb anymore.
     
  15. RG

    RG New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    MBP
     
  16. Pepsi1975

    Pepsi1975 Mod of the Year

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit
    i guess i am the black sheep, no macbook here, using an hp laptop
     
  17. TheDarkHorizon

    TheDarkHorizon \xC0\xFF\xEE

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    The 15" MBP is 1440x900, which is admittedly pretty low for a 15". When I'm connected to my 30", I have my editor open on the left half of the screen and Firefox / Terminal tiled on the right half of the screen. When I'm just using my laptop, everything becomes full screen. I used to use a MacBook, and I'd do the same thing.
     
  18. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    17" MacBook Pro
     
  19. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    15" mbp attached to a 30". up until a few months ago I was only on my 15. i'm selling my mbp for a mac pro shortly.
     
  20. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    15" macbook pro for couch devel (tm)

    desktop @ home is a 22" lcd

    workstation @ office is 2 x 22" lcd
     
  21. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    Is 1280x800 a decent enough resolution to work with? I run 1680x1050 at home on my 22"
     
  22. Pepsi1975

    Pepsi1975 Mod of the Year

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit
    that is what i run on my laptop and not had a problem designing with it
     
  23. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    mac crew is strong up in this bitch.
     
  24. Pepsi1975

    Pepsi1975 Mod of the Year

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit
    yeah i wish i knew that this as a splinter cell of the closet before i started to post in here :mamoru:
     
  25. RG

    RG New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    what
     

Share This Page