web hosting vs hosting on my own

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Soccerfn10, Aug 24, 2007.

1. Soccerfn10

Soccerfn10 New Member

I'm thinking about starting up my own website (something small just for a few friends) and was wondering what would the advantages be of hosting the website on my own server (which I would have to build) vs using a web hosting company. It would be a very small amount of traffic and wouldn't need regular maintenance so I wouldn't need much of a server or even a super fast connection. I have very little server experience with regards to running a website but I am quite tech savy. I think if I really tried, I could do it. I'm not sure if I'm ready for all the support needed to host a website on my own yet though.

Anyway, I've found several web hosting companies online and they offer very good pricing (around $10). Only problem is, I wouldn't really see much justification in paying that in the case my website rarely gets any hits. Specifically, there might be a couple months where I'm able to make regular updates and then I might take a break from it for a while. In other words, the updates and, therefore, traffic would be sporadic at best.

I don't want to do one of those lame free web hosting places that have popups and ads everywhere. I would also need enough flexibility to say receive email, ftp, run some applets, etc.

So my question to OT is, in your experience if you have any, what is your preferred method? Host your own or use a web host? In the case of a web host, which site have you had good results with or heard good things about?

Thanks guys...

2. maxxpower

maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

Its likely to cost you some sort of money.
    If you wanted to host your own, lets say on your home DSL or Cable connection, you will need to use some sort of software to allow a static IP to be bound to your domain.