web design

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Gandi1979, Nov 14, 2004.

1. Gandi1979

Gandi1979 New Member

moved this from the unemployment office....

anyone do this for a living? how'd ya get started?

2. percent

percent deluded

yes and no, i work as a web designer - but i am going to school and definitly dont want to do it for a living.

i got started by doing a work study with a company through high school sophmore year (i had no experience :hs: ). i worked for 2 days/wk one semester with no pay, but go a credit. That summer they hired me and i have been worknig there full time summer/part time winter for 4 years.

Its a small company, like 15 people or something (5 do web dev directly)

3. Gandi1979

Gandi1979 New Member

what do you make? what type of skills do you have?

4. Javi

Javi New Member

I do it for a living. Started on the side in 98-99, doing simple pages for gaming community pages. It then expanded to a very large community site, and remains that way towards the present.

In 1999, I started to work at an ISP that happened to host websites. As tech support, I was able to dabble a bit further into webpage land..

It was opportunities like above that allowed me to get the job I have today. Been at it for over 1 1/2 years. I plan to do this for a long time; business is lucrative.

5. percent

percent deluded

My rate is $14 an hour, but that is a not a perfect representation. I'll work for like 32 hours in two weeks and get a paycheck for 40 or 45 hours.

I am also due up for a raise real soon. Proley $1 or $2 dollers per hour.

I do a lot of web page construction (html, asp, asp.net, javascript) and graphic design. I do some VB.net destop applications and other types of programming, but i try to avoid those projects because i dont like doing them.