Weak Chest

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Snowed, Jan 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Snowed

Snowed OT Supporter

I've been lifting pretty consistently for the past 7 months. The first 3 and a half were a program I found online with mostly isolation exercises. The next 3 and a half I started doing starting strength (though not properly.) I wouldn't do deadlifts or powercleans/rows due to back problems, trouble arching my back, and nobody to critique my form.

I've been benching consistently the whole time and haven't seen as much progress as I would like. I also started off very weak compared to everyone I know.

Here are my numbers:
    Bench (7 months ago)
    65 - 4x10
    Bench (Now)
    115 - 3x5

I can barely do a rep or two of 135 :ugh:

My other lifts seem better. I started squatting 3 and a half months ago at 135 3x5 and am now up to 185 3x5. OHP is 85 3x5.

I just started deadlifts last week and my form is complete shit. :o I'm doing 115 3x5 just to go easy on my back/work on my form. My back keeps rounding on the way down. I'm planning on starting power cleans too, but don't have a coach so I guess I'll do the same and take it light to start out.

SO, any ideas on how to improve my bench? I work just as hard as all my other lifts but don't see the same progress. Am I genetically fucked or is there something I can do?

2. Frank Dux

Frank Dux Guest

5/3/1 by jim humongous cock wendler

and lots of food

3. deznutz

deznutz New Member

Bench 115x3x5
    OHP 85x3x5
    Squat 185x3x5
    Deadlift 115x3x5

I would say your DL should/could be better.
    Keep eating and lifting hard.

4. knight42

knight42 OT Supporter

there are tons of good programs out there, 5/3/1 is a good example and works for all your other lifts as well.

Don't just go to the gym and lift whatever, pick a program and follow it. Record everything and track your progress.

And pick up a damn fork

5. Bacchus

Bacchus Skinny Guy