WD My Book: Reformat FAT32 to NTFS?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mad doc, Nov 29, 2006.

  1. mad doc

    mad doc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I justed picked up a 320GB Western Digital My Book, installed it about 5 minutes ago, and checked the drive format. It's currently FAT32, the internal drive on my computer is NTFS. Which is better? FAT32 or NTFS? Should I reformat it to NTFS?

    I'm running XP Pro on my desktop.
     
  2. AJP

    AJP 7-1 LOL Green Gay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    ntfs
     
  3. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,508
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    They come FAT32 from the factory because you might connect it to a Win9x machine or a Mac that doesn't do NTFS. If you only plan on connecting it to a WinNT/2K/XP/2K3/Vista or later machine, then NTFS is better.
     
  4. mad doc

    mad doc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only connecting it to the desktop, so nice NTFS it is.
     
  5. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
  6. shiba

    shiba Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to do it without deleting the files you already have in there? in my case 100gb of movies.
     
  7. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    yes. Windows can convert the disk. Just run convert x: /FS:NTFS from the command prompt, where X: is the drive letter you want to convert.
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    wouldn't fat32 limit it to not show the full 500gb?
     
  9. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,508
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    FAT32 supports volumes up to 2TB but over 32GB, it uses 32KB clusters which waste a lot of space.

    Also, WinXP won't create a FAT32 partition over 32GB even though it will happily use a larger partition created on another operating system like Win9x.
     
  10. shiba

    shiba Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    edit* nm i figured it out.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2006

Share This Page