Water Cooling?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by freshie, Dec 8, 2005.

1. freshie

freshie New Member

I have a server in my house, P4 3.2 800 MHz, 1GB RAM, 2 DVD burners, 3 Hard drives, its pretty active when I am home. I do all my downloading and burning with it and use my laptop to surf. All my computers in the house backup to it.

Anyways last week I had a processor fry on me and I came to the conclusion it was a heat issue. I have a coolermaster case with 2 fans and they weren’t pushing shit.

I replaced it and I am looking for some cooling alternatives. I changed my exhaust fan and my CPU temp is about 35C idle (The BIOS say 45ish) I am not sure what is normal. I changed my CPU fan with the old processor and the processor still burned out so that’s why I’m looking for alternatives. So right now I have a very good exhaust fan, the Intel heatsink w/ fan, and an intake fan which is shitty. Anyone have any experience with water cooling? Am I wasting my time? A few extra $$ is worth keeping my machine running smoothly.

Thanks! :wiggle:

2. kingtoad

kingtoad OT Supporter

I think your server should remain air cooled. With proper care and minor physics, you could ge very efficient cooling out of your server. I wouldn't Watercool unless you plan on OC'ing.

3. freshie

freshie New Member

But I need some ideas. Some fans something? :)

4. kingtoad

kingtoad OT Supporter

Ugh, I guess. A decent CPU fan and an exhause should do just fine.

5. dorkultra

dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

you should get a motherboard that shuts down the computer before the processor fries....

6. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

go to www.3dcool.com. They have tons of fans. If this server is in a closet or something, get the fastest ball bearing fans you can find. And clean the dust off your heatsinks.

7. lowfat

lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

You don't need fast fans for good cooling. Just a good heatsink and a decent fan.

8. freshie